Reviews » Mobile Broadband » 

Three Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
26 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Sep, 2014    By: otester
Title: Meh - Wow
As long as you don't need the support they are good.

Average speed:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3765384303.png

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Apr, 2014    By: chrisl
I've been with Three for a few years and am pleased with their mobile broadband offering. I've used Three both on a mobile phone (The One Plan) and via a portable MiFi unit.

Coverage 6/10

Good coverage in the cities, varies indoors in some places. Seems to be on par with other networks when it comes to commuting, 3G drifting in and out of coverage. Overall I've had more availability from Three than I had from Orange, O2 and Vodafone, all of whom I have also used previously.

Three were happy to offer me a guarantee when I joined them - test for a week, if there is no coverage where I need it then I can cancel the contract with no penalty. I had full coverage and didn't need to. If you're unsure check the coverage maps and make a deal with them in person at your local Three store.

Services 7/10

Based on experience of mobile 3G coverage and also The One Plan. Data, throughput, voicemail, roaming, all standard stuff well implemented. Could be a bit slicker. Reliability has been good over the years I've used them with only a couple of half-day UK-wide wobbles on 3G recently, reported in the news when they happened.

Support 5/10

I've not really needed to use support but the phone support goes through to a foreign call center which is not very good and works to a script. That said, once you get someone who can help they tend to stick with you and try to resolve the problem as best they can.

Speed 10/10

Full marks here, Three's standard 3G is rapid and their DC-HSDPA "Ultrafast" 3G is not far off 4G speeds. 4G is rolling out now, available free to all customers who have suitable hardware, which is a good move considering how much the 4G incumbents want to charge for the privilege. Latency is quite poor at times but I think this is an artifact of mobile broadband in general.

Value 10/10

Full marks again. Great Ultrafast 3G and 4G speed and connectivity and realistic data packages at sensible prices. Happy customer.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Oct, 2012    By: Lux
Slow!

£15 and I got a much needed smart phone plus it is has unlimited data.

If you buy a just a sim card and put it in a phone that has an external antenna then you might get some nice speed. Plus If you do that you can have unlimited data with an annoynimous connection if you go via the pay as you go route.

http://www.gadgetsdealer.com/product162055.html

But when I was in the small Village I got no connection.

when I used orange I used up my data in one night even though it said unlimited. All I did was leave my gps on during the night and that broke the fair use. . .

In my review I am not going to count poor connection against three because I think phone manufacturers are simply not doing a good enough job because consumers don't pay attention to how well a phone connects, and so I think it is their fault.

The staff in the three store are no help.

In the end it is probably the best of a bad bunch.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Oct, 2011    By: DTMark
Just to update the below, written in January:

Cell has been upgraded.

Now have an Edimax router and the E367 modem.

Performance averages 5.4Mbps down and 1Mbps up, latency averages about 70ms

Best seen is 6.6Mbps down 1.7Mbps up.

All other comments as previously

--

Live 2.5km from the phone exchange, 2.8km from the Three cell.

ADSL manages a 1750 IP profile.

Three 3G averages between 2 and 3Mbps with the dongle indoors near a window. Local cell only 3.6Mbps, but due for upgrade to 7.2Mbps in 2011.

Speeds quite consistent, abandoned landline 2+ years ago in favour of 3G and haven't looked back - it can't match it.

No image compression, no apparent throttling of any particular protocols, YouTube and iPlayer stream find at standard definitions.

You need to change your port for SMTP to work (587 I think) but MS Exchange works as is.

One 2 day outage due to major issue with cell, took 48 hours to resolve. All other outages for upgrades informed in advance via control panel.

Latency averages 90ms so not good for gaming, but in every other way walks all over ADSL on a circa 3km long line.

A real alternative to ADSL with the proviso that we're in a rural area, and so I could possibly be one of only a handful of people using it.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Sep, 2011    By: Pillz
Just thought i'd chuck a small review in here for 3 mobile broadband as ive been using it for a month now.

Positives:

Its fast
Its easy to connect plug and play
Its easy to top up
Great signal
You can game online with it!
30 pounds free credit (3gbs)

Negatives:

Its expensive
The support line im assuming maybe based in India

Its pretty easy to sum up 3 mobile broadband , its simple to use and the signal in my area is pretty good , im almost always maxed out on signal , it barely ever drops out for me and the download speeds are about 6meg , so around 700kbs tops! Ive gamed online with it you get about a 70 ping in London servers , and on world of warcraft i barely got any lag or drops at all it seemed to fine just as fine as threw the line broadband. You get a nice bundle of 30 pounds free credit as well when you first buy it , it easily trumps all its competitors for value for money when you first buy the dongle nearly all of the other company's don't give you free usage.

You can also get the pay per day services 2 pounds 99p 500megabytes to last you 24 hours which is ideal for a lot of people who just wanna quick browse during the day and night!

Overall.

7/10

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th May, 2011    By: overcorpes
Noticed advert in the paper from Three offering all you can eat data which also allowed tethering and at first was a bit dubious of the offer.Decided to chance my arm and am so glad i did.

First month in ive used 38 Gigs and i have not recieved any messages from Three telling me im a bad person.

I use my connection to stream from Iplayer,4od which in all honesty can get choppy between 6pm and 10 pm and gaming on both Xbox live and PSN which is absoultly fantastic (rock steady all through the day,and with a ping of 90-100ms allows me to be competative)

The only bug bear i have is the call centres,which are truly horrid.

So in closing i am one happy camper who is running a network of computer,Xbox and Ps3 from My HTC Hero.:)


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Apr, 2011    By: steveinwales
Having tried to get a realisticly priced fixed line solution to my flat I failed. BT ran an advertising campaign offering a boradband package for £20. Looked good. Phoen them and found out it was actually £35 including the line rental.

Already being a three customer I decided to look inot what they could offer and discovered MiFi. Its great. Reliable connection that even allows me to use it for XBOX live (which was a real surprise).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Oct, 2010    By: bevangg
Services- good on the whole although coverage could be improved in rural areas.
Support- greatly improved recently and the best of any mobile provider or isp that I have ever dealt with. I recently had an issue with a netbook under a 2 year mobile contract. I called 3 customer services who referred me to the manufacturer of the netbook. As it was more than a year old the manufacturers would not repair the machine. I emailed 3 and they called me straight back. They are going to cover the cost of repairing the netbook as a goodwill gesture and the entire process has been painless for me. The most important aspect was the polite, efficient and informed nature of the gentleman who dealt with my case (Vejay Chetty).
I suspect that 3 have researched how to improve customer services and have made great headway in this regard. Other providers should take note as customer services are a major let-down for a lot of them and I have moved my business twice due to appalling treatment.
Speed- more than adequate, easily copes with streaming high definition video (but be careful not to use up your allowance)
Value- Very good

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Nov, 2009    By: MikeC
Oh dear, where do I start?

After buying the modem on PAYG connection reliability was non existent. It could drop the line literally every few seconds.

Then a couple of months ago 3G UK revamped their network in my area and things looked like they were improving. I could then keep a connection for several hours without any problem. Admittedly download speeds were still erratic and generally poor but it was much more usable than before.

And then 3G UK decided to introduce 'filtering' to weed out the P2P bandwidth hogs. Now my download speeds have gone through the floor. From around 30 kbps to 400 kbps before in general (with the odd and very infrequent surge up to 2000 kbps) to what I am getting now, which is 0.233 kbps with the odd surge up to a 1 kbps. This is now a joke.

I have never done any P2P stuff and I don't even surf on You Tube apart from once in a blue moon as 3G UKs service is far to slow to allow you to stream video, unless you like watching it in two second chunks.

I can only recommend you avoid Hutchison 3G UK and try one of the other providers, or better still get a land line if you can. Mobile snailband is largely junk and it is unlikely to improve enormously for several years yet.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Oct, 2009    By: Robert Naylor
I bought a pay as you go pre paid package with a Huawei E220 dongle from three due to a long stay in hospital.

Price wise - you can't beat it - if you use it regularly. Speeds can be pretty good when signal is good - no where near the claimed speeds, but I didn't expect that anyway.

Only gripes are:
1) Purchased Packages only last a month. I'm a very sporadic user so I end up spending £10 for sometimes a couple of days access.
2) Doesn't drop down to GPRS when signal is too weak to connect via 3G. Have to force it to only connect via GPRS.
3) TXT Messages from 3 don't show up in Linux for some reason. All other messages do.

Haven't needed support, so ignore that score.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: ROKUGIFT
  • TalkTalk £21.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Vodafone £23.50 (*26.50)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: ROKUGIFT
  • Community Fibre £27.50 (*32.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: First 6 Months Free
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3673)
  2. BT (3044)
  3. Politics (1975)
  4. Building Digital UK (1945)
  5. FTTC (1897)
  6. Openreach (1862)
  7. Business (1718)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1501)
  9. Statistics (1430)
  10. FTTH (1367)
  11. 4G (1295)
  12. Virgin Media (1197)
  13. Fibre Optic (1185)
  14. Wireless Internet (1176)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1167)
  16. Vodafone (859)
  17. EE (845)
  18. 5G (792)
  19. TalkTalk (781)
  20. Sky Broadband (757)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules