Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

uno Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
165 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Aug, 2018    By: Grazzer
I have been with Uno for 5 months and have started having slow speed issues. Uno support managed to organise a Saturday appointment straight with Openreach, but unfortunately probably over stated the charges. That said, their support was simpy excellent, and eventually the speed recovered possibly more as a result of luck form Openreach. Their support was the best I have come across, responsive, supportive and informative, something no other provider has managed to achieve.

In the sea of bland providers offering 'me to' solutions, Uno has stood out as one of the best you can get, something that the others can learn from. Thanks to Matt for taking responsibility for the issue and managing my frustration. His intelligent replies really did make the difference. Thank you Uno.

Time With Provider: 5 Months
Package Name: Fibre January 2018 special
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Jan, 2018    By: paradise
I have dealt with many independent and major ISPs over the years, the best of which was BE Broadband. I recently switched two very different sites to Uno - one in London and another in a very remote rural location. The changeover was seemless in both locations with updates provided regularly until completed.

At the remote rural site, there were terrible line noise problems (inherited from BT's stewardship of the line) which also resulted in appalling broadband. Uno responded to a support request on a Sunday evening and an Openreach engineer attended within 48 hours. Despite the engineer declaring that there were no issues, Uno refused to close the fault with Openreach and arranged a further visit from an engineer who again declared that there was no fault. If this had been BT, they and I would have given up at this point but Uno persisted and escalated the issue at Openreach. The next morning a more experienced engineer was sent out who identified several line faults within minutes. Such dogged pursuit of Openreach and committed Customer Support is to be applauded.

The customer portal is friendly, detailed and unlike BT, Sky and other large corporate players it does not try and force you to buy crappy add-ons that you don't need.

Overall I cannot recommend this company's services enough. Well done Uno!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Oct, 2017    By: JoQuinn
Title: Unhelpful
I switched to Uno after the collapse of Fast.co.uk. The setup was relatively painless and quick but the support is terrible.

I have a long line that has intermittent issues. With Fast getting this solved was one phone call, they kept at Openreach until the issue was solved.

However Uno don't want to know, I log a call as the line disconnects 50 times a day and I get told BT cannot find a fault on my line .. simply because during the 2 mins of testing it behaves itself.

I will be finding a new ISP that supports its customers rather than its suppliers.

----------------------------------

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by uno Follows (DO NOT REMOVE) Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

It's sad to hear of the problems this customer has had, however, we do not support Openreach and/or suppliers in accepting this as the norm.

If after all our testing and where the cause of any fault cannot be determined or service testing as faulty we offer an engineer visit. That response clearly explains that no fault remotely could be detected and as such, an engineer has to be arranged as per standard process that any provider would need to follow. We have a lot of monitoring in place, the majority of which can be seen in the customer portal.

Depending on the fault reported, testing is certainly never in the region of minutes and an issue is never ruled out after such little time

We do invite this customer to get in touch to discuss this in more detail as we believe that our response has been misconstrued compared to our actual intentions.

--------------------------------

How can a line that disconnects 20 times an hour *not* be faulty?

Give me a name and number to contact .. please don't say the support desk as I have been around this issue too many times with them now.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Aug, 2017    By: zofbtb
I've been using Uno Broadband Talk Surf (ADSL) for the past 16 months. The only reason I'm leaving is that Talk Fibre isn't available where I live.

Pros: excellent support, good value (~£23/month), cheap PAYG calls, used TT Business so I could tweak the SNR on my router to get 17Mbps, free web hosting with PHP and a MySql database.

Cons: website looks a bit dated - could do with being made responsive (not that it affects the service) and Talk Fibre coverage is limited.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Apr, 2017    By: daddum

Moved to uno from demon First problem was the line dropped a lot and when my billion router tried to reinstate the pppoa session uno would reject it for being too quick. Had to buy a new router and still problems had to put router into bridge mode and install edge router to do the pppoa session then I noticed that the way they handle public ip addresses is odd in essence your outgoing ip address is your pppoa address not your public address and this can cause issues if you provide remote support to business users.

Finally they cut me off because someone told them I was attacking other sites they ignored my emails and could not verify these accusations and the company that reported me wanted me to pay them money to get a copy of the alleged report I googled this company and they have an appalling reputation and yet uno believed them rather than me and I had virus checked everything twice and my firewall logs showed no outgoing attacks I am now seeking compensation from them and looking to move isp

ISPreview Approved 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Uno Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

We had received reports from various sources indicating that the customers connection was sending malicious traffic to other hosts on the internet. One report was from BitNinja which hosts and other server operators run and automatically feed their raw logs. When BitNinja process all these logs, they find common patterns and source hosts for malicious traffic. This customers IP was first seen back in February 2017 but as the activity increased overtime, we started receiving logs of reports. Not just aggregated ones from BitNinja but from independent people also. Contacting the customer we advised we would need to hear from them within 24 hours which we did not then a further notice a day later saying the reports had continued and as we had no response, suspended after 36 hours. It is the last resort we take but until this morning we had no contact only after the service was suspended. We will work with the customer now they are in touch to resolve.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Feb, 2017    By: grelfosa
Migrated to Uno Talk Surf from Phone Co-op ADSL in June 2016. No real problem with Phone Co-op but free migration to Uno as I was on Talktalk line, slightly cheaper service and much cheaper phone calls with no connection charges. My local cabinet was due to be updated in a few month's time, so changed to Uno to hopefully upgrade to their 'coming soon' Talk Surf Fibre.

Slight problem with 1471 service not available after transfer, but this was sorted quickly and efficiently. Support from Uno and its website is excellent with rapid responses even late at night. Generally very pleased with Uno.

My local cabinet was upgraded to FTTC at the end of September, however Uno still unable to give start date for their Talk Surf Fibre service. After waiting a couple of years for fibre to be available I decided to migrate to Cloudscape in October 2016.

In the end I was a bit disappointed with Uno for advertising a service that's 'coming soon' throughout 2016, that is still not available now (Feb 17). Also surprised by cancellation fees from Uno, not clearly set out on their website and the amount charged was more than expected for a 30 day contract.

Another slight annoyance is that Uno websites lists all prices without VAT included, this is not clearly apparent when you first visit the website, just something to be aware of when comparing prices.

Had their Talk Surf Fibre service been available (at a reasonable price) I'm sure I would still be with Uno now.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jan, 2017    By: SJUK
I live 8 miles from central London but our cabinet is not upgraded to FTTC (ongoing nightmare, so I started a website wellingfibre.co.uk). I was with BT on ADSL with the blistering speed of 3-4 Mbps down and 0.3 up.

BT used to give me discount because I complained that Openreach/BT are not upgrading the cabinet. Over the years the prices went up and they also stopped giving me discount. I ended paying £38.99 per month for 3Mbps, thats's too much, so I looked around.
I have been with AAISP before but the costs are too much for the speed I will get. The next was Uno, I looked what I would get for the price.

ADSL and telephone line
Static IP
Unlimited data
UK based support
1 month contract

£24 inc vat, per month.

I took the plunge, after moving I asked Uno to change the IP Profile, I now have 4Mbps download and 0.7 up. Much better speeds than BT.

That's £14.99 cheaper! (Maybe more as BT just raised their prices).

Really happy so far, the only small thing would be the guy on the support desk sounds really unhappy. He's helpful, but sounds like he needs to cheer up a bit, but at least I can understand him, unlike BT!

I would recommend Uno !


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2017    By: midgard
Having been a satisfied customer of their sister company Xilo for many years, I finally decided to move our broadband service over to uno, and take the opportunity to transfer our website and domain management over to them at the same time, all for free. All the work was completed almost immediately, without any problems whatsoever, and the service is as brilliant as ever. Their client service management dashboard and associated control panel are extremely powerful and comprehensive, allowing considerable flexibility in managing all of our services online. Although the broadband speed is limited by the distance from our nearest exchange (the village is finally being fibred as I write), they have consistently provided the best speed and service that we have ever received from any previous ISP.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Dec, 2016    By: dhillonk
Was good when I first started out with uno. Stable 6mbps connection. Every 3 months or so since. had issues with lots of fails. Contacted uno and all they did was increase SNR and therefore speed. Today, still getting load of fails and speed is down to 1.4mbps. Internet is virtually unusable.

Support just puts it down to EMI and they can do nothing. Never had the issue when I was with BT, Either BT are screwing uno or vice versa and that, in tuen, is screwing me. God knows. I am at a total loss at what to do.

Extremely disappointed in comment from UNO below. I reviewed based on a "dead end" reply I received on the 16th, I quote

"All we can do in this station is what I outlined earlier i'm afraid. I wish we could do more or magic a cure but we've ruled out everything to that possibly can be."

Uno offered and engineer visit on the 20th to which I have not yet had a chance to reply till today!


Uno suggest FTTP, at a cost of cousre, but they do not do it. If they had bothered to check, I cannot get it either! Happy to pay but.................
ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by uno Follows (DO NOT REMOVE) Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3 We're sad to read the comments from this customer. We have worked with him for a period of time trying all possible options to stabilise the line as would be logical to do so. One such option is to increase the margin temporarily to see if this helps.

As the data indicates the line is suffering from noise bursts or interference, we have offered an engineer visit but as yet, the customer has not been willing to do so. Due to this, our ability to resolve the situation is limited.

Whilst we did look at the other options possible to him, we did make it clear that FTTC would not give any benefit (as the estimate was lower than ADSL) and FTTP was possible but not available from us.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Oct, 2016    By: John B
I'm in a rural farm right at the limit of ADSL broadband about four miles from the exchange. Fibre broadband is not available and the wire line is not the best quality. High speed broadband came to my exchange a couple of years ago but speed and reliability with my old ISP Orange / EE was just hopeless. Repeated complaints through 'customer service' somewhere in Asia were time consuming, painful and ineffective. That prompted me to move to BT and I was reasonably happy with their service however, after my initial deal came to an end I was paying £50+ a month for a slow (2.3 MB/s) connection and a bundled package of calls that I wasn't using. When I said I was thinking of moving of course I got the hard sell of another discounted 12 month contract and I considered staying with BT to avoid the hassle of switching. My previous switch had been a nightmare, cut off by EE as soon as I notified them of my intention to leave and unable to get BT due to mandatory waiting periods and each blaming the other.

I switched to uno due to their high customer satisfaction ratings and simple pricing and I couldn't be more pleased. Speed has improved to 3MB/s at times which is above the top end quoted speed for my line and speed is now reliable. The switch process was flawless, I opted for a simple Technicolour router on the advice of a very helpful customer service person as I have Apple equipment to provide my home Wifi. I had one minor issue on switch over which was resolved instantly and helpfully by uno over the phone, I'd miss typed my user name - my fault. Their team appears to be UK based, knowledge, courteous and I was hardly kept waiting at all.

As others have said this is all a breath of fresh air and I'm getting a service that I'd previously been told was unavailable. I only hope that uno manage to maintain their superb service as they grow. In some ways I'm reluctant to praise them in fear of loosing what I now have.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: CHRISTMAS18
  • Onestream £19.95 (*34.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00 (*25.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2290)
  2. FTTP (1754)
  3. FTTC (1521)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1490)
  5. Openreach (1234)
  6. Politics (1225)
  7. Business (1093)
  8. Statistics (964)
  9. Mobile Broadband (885)
  10. Fibre Optic (881)
  11. FTTH (818)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (811)
  13. Wireless Internet (806)
  14. 4G (768)
  15. Virgin Media (742)
  16. Sky Broadband (546)
  17. TalkTalk (525)
  18. EE (507)
  19. Vodafone (396)
  20. Security (371)
uno - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 4.624242424242424 / 5 based on 165 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules