Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

uno Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
180 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Sep, 2021    By: doublechenz
Uno is a superb ISP which I can wholeheartedly recommend, even though there are a couple of things I think could be improved.

First the negative...
Passing on of cease charges to customers migrating away.
Yes I know they tell you this upfront, but still, I've been with around 15 ISP's and Uno is the only ISP I've been with that have passed on this charge to the customer.

Secondly, the number only checker on their website. Without an address checker, how are potential customers meant to check prices, connection method and estimated speeds if they don't have a BT landline.

Want FTTP but don't have a landline - you have to contact them.
Have a Virgin TalkTalk or Sky number and want Uno ADSL/VDSL? Checker just says "We're currently not able to offer you any services" This has actually put off friends and family from joining them after my recommendation.
Need a new landline installing? Who knows.

The good...
Speed, great, line speed all day everyday. Not even a hint of congestion.
Latency, as low as can be expected for location and VDSL
Reliability, great, maybe 1 or 2 small outages a year.
Internet completely unfiltered.
Work VPN works flawlessly.
Support, phones always answered promptly, professionally and by very knowledgeable people, they really know their stuff.
Outside of office hours, I've often had tickets responded to within an hour or so.


Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: Fibre+Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Sep, 2021    By: jitterybug
Wading through the growing list of internet providers offering FttP, I found Uno a breath of fresh air.

Pre sales answered all my questions and offered help with some questions about wifi not strictly about the service they offer.

Post order, there were some problems caused by OpenReach and a blocked pipe to my house. I was kept informed regularly and didn't have to worry about the problem being proactively managed by them.

Post install, speeds are exactly as ordered. My EERO wireless tests this every day and I have yet to see this drop and more than 1-2Mb from the product rate.

Entirely recommend Uno to all as it has been one easy and stress free transition

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: Fibre Direct
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Sep, 2021    By: rswarbrick
We joined Uno when moving to a new house in August. The house previously used Virgin, so didn't actually have a phone line. Cue lots of angst while OpenReach messed up the connection twice. *However*, Uno's tech support was brilliant. Phone answers within a few seconds, helpful advice (including skim-reading the manual for my router to help me diagnose whether I was seeing a sync signal) and general friendliness.

Speed tests show a few percent over what I'm paying for and a ~30ms ping.

I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a new ISP.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Duo Advanced (FTTC + line rental)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Jul, 2021    By: aarony
Many times there was a complete loss of signal, I had to submit a ticket, wait for someone to pick it up, ask me additional unnecessary questions, only to find out a day or two later OpenReach planned maintenance for that night and morning. It was irritating watching status page on Uno saying there are no issues and connection is fine while you have no connection at all, apparently as expected.
Uno always told me there is simply no way for me to find out when those maintenance windows were planned for.
After switching to another provider with a lower rate, I know it was not true. I can now see upcoming outages and past incidents recorded by OpenReach (even those I did not notice). Not a useless "always OK" status.
I don't use a landline, only broadband. Apparently, Uno could not possibly check the signal on their end (I paid for their phone line, btw). I had to buy a phone just so Uno can rule out problems with the phone line they provided.
My current ISP was surprised this was ever a problem to check for Uno.
Of course they charged this nasty disconnection fee. Plus since I submitted cancellation request to wrong dept, they also charged for extra few days.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name: Fibre+ Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 27th Jul, 2021

We're sorry if you feel the questions are "unnecessary". We have to ensure that we gather information for a reported issue and if we are asking such questions, it means that not all the information has been provided on the initial form. Unfortunately, some information entered is either incorrect or the fault type selected could be mismatched to what is being stated; these are things we have to check.

Much of what you've claimed however is incorrect in regard to Openreach works and line checks we can and do run on faults.

Openreach do routine cabinet reboots/software upgrades and these are not always notified to us on an exchange or cabinet level. This is not unique to us in any way. Genuine outages however are recorded and published when service affecting.

We can, of course, run a line check and this is one of the standard things we do when a report is received. However, as you do have a line, if the Openreach line check is clear (returns no detected fault) and based on the issue you are reporting, checking for a clear dial tone amongst other things are standard diagnostic checks.

If you've requested to cease your service which it sounds like you have, a cease fee, charged by Openreach, is passed on at cost. Unfortunately, if you've not followed the steps within your portal, this delays your cease request but could have been avoided by doing this on the first instance

Posted: 19th May, 2021    By: zofbtb
UPDATE

Came back to Uno after using them from ADSL years ago (at the time they couldn't do FTTC at my address). Had First Utility (Shell), TT and John Lewis (Plusnet) VDSL since then.

Easy switch over from JL - no downtime at all. Get a higher sync than ever before and it has been rock solid since the switch. The website is overdue a overhaul (obviously doesn't affect the service) but other than that delighted with Uno (using Zen wholesale).

NB They no longer provide free web hosting and you need to be with OR to switch ie no moving from Talk Talk, Shell etc

====


I've been using Uno Broadband Talk Surf (ADSL) for the past 16 months. The only reason I'm leaving is that Talk Fibre isn't available where I live.

Pros: excellent support, good value (~£23/month), cheap PAYG calls, used TT Business so I could tweak the SNR on my router to get 17Mbps, free web hosting with PHP and a MySql database.

Cons: website looks a bit dated - could do with being made responsive (not that it affects the service) and Talk Fibre coverage is limited.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Dec, 2020    By: trfh
We have been using Xilo/Uno for so long that I couldn't remember how long it was - had to look it up. Xilo initially were excellent, both in price and support - they seem to have crashed now they are Uno.

Reason for leaving - I cancelled a hosting service paid annually, and as I didn't apparently give the notice (which I couldn't find in any contract document I had) they refused so I paid for an extra year's service which I had no need of, and no use for. I put in a ticket about it - its still outstanding now some 9 months later, and they have never answered it.

Just recently my email simply stopped. All emails on all email addresses - "no connection to server" error. When I raised a ticket with them, they said "Oh, you need a secure connection, and we sent an email to you about it 2 months ago". I looked for that email - absolutely no sign of it anywhere (not in the junk either). Easily fixed, but extremely poor support service.

Now we are moving to Zen Internet, Uno are demanding a "Cease fee" of £32. For what? Apparently it "was in the contract". The contract we agreed to was with Xilo - but Uno took over Xilo and failed to tell us that conditions had altered. We "agreed by default" apparently. All extremely poor - and I am just so glad to be able to say "good riddance" to Uno. This is not the sort of company I ever want to be doing business with.

Time With Provider: 8 Years
Package Name: Fibre+100GB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 03rd Dec, 2020

We appreciate your comments very much but do have to make clear that you have no email hosting with us.

In regard to the cease fee, this remains exactly the same as it did prior to transfer. In 2017 we explained the terms of the transfer more than 60 days before this happened setting out that you could go elsewhere and had this period of time to decide.

As you made no request to us in this time, nor made any contact whatsoever, the transfer proceeded but as was explained in great detail at the time, your contract terms did not change; the length remained as it was as did the pricing. This still remains true today. As we made sure, no customer would be disadvantaged by the change.

The network you are moving to have generated a losing order which has generated an Openreach cease which is passed in to you, no different to what would have happened prior to transfer.

One of the team was trying to explain this to you today on the phone but unfortunately, you spoke over them and then hung up.

We will be in touch to send your original terms as well as the current terms for your peace of mind to show there has been no change as claimed.

Posted: 24th Oct, 2020    By: surv55
Title: DUO
been with uno for 10 years using their TalkTalk phone and broadband ADSL and would have liked to upgrade to the DUO but was told that uno are told which cabinets that they can use ?,
mine is not one of them - disappointed - the guy in Hereford was lucky I am in a village called Madley just south west of Hereford

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: TalkTalk phone and broadband ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Oct, 2020    By: joeblogs
I had slow speeds to start with which they were'nt very forthcoming with in their support. In the end I moved away from them because they are quite overpriced compared to other providers that offer an almost identical service. I was stung with a cease fee which I wasn't aware of and wasn't made clear at the time I ordered my broadband. Your mileage may vary but I wouldn't recommend them or go back to them myself.

Update 13/10/20 - Uno, I appreciate the comments but the last issue was nothing to do with replacing the filter - in fact, the cause of the issues was never determined as it seemed to resolve itself in the end. I worked very closely with your support representative, providing lots of data and evidence supporting the idea that it wasn't something saturating the bandwidth on my LAN.

Secondly, the sync speed may well have been within range but obtaining throughput at those speeds is a different story. The connection was so slow at one point, I couldn't navigate to your own website to update the support case.

Speeds at our location will never be very fast, I appreciate that, but Uno failed to deliver a service that goes above and beyond that which I can get from Zen Internet for about £15 less per month.


Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Fibre Pro 12 months
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 01st Oct, 2020

We appreciate the comments although feel some information has been omitted.

In regard to the speed, we provide a speed range prior to signup that the line should be capable of. At the point we were contacted, the line was within this banding. There was a claim the line was higher prior to migration which we advised was likely due to a DLM reset which can happen on migration. Avg support response was less than an hour.

We also checked historic DLM records with Openreach which showed the line had a variable sync before it migrated to us. The customer then located the issue with a filter and as soon as that was replaced, sync returned to the level the customer expected with no further reports since (over 15 months to now).

In regard to the cease fee, this is clearly mentioned before any order progresses on our broadband product pages, after entering a number in the summary information box prior to entering any details and also within our price list referenced in the terms agreed. We can't agree the reviewer wasn't aware of it, or that it wasn't clear being shown three times during the order.

Due to the provider who the line is migrating to and their order, it generates a fee which is passed on at cost.

Finally, being "overpriced" is subjective and we're by no means the most expensive either. A quality service does come at a price and we don't aim to compete at this level.

Posted: 31st Jul, 2020    By: Delboy
I've been with Uno since last November after having been with AAISP for 4 years, there was nothing wrong with AAISP just I felt that their cost per month was not competitive what the product (VDSL) I was provided.

I always use ISPReview to look for a provider always based on customer service reviews, Uno have the same structure of support as AAISP but their price per month was more competitive.

I worked with Matt right from the start for the install, everything went to plan/date as expected no faffing around.

At the start of lockdown I noticed a quite severe impact to my service, I again dealt with Matt, the troubleshooting went on for I won't lie 2 months! Matt is tenacious and never gives up! we knew straight away there was a congestion issue, proving where that was, was the difficult part!!! like all ISP's in the UK they have to deal normally with BT Openreach!! this is where UNO and Matt shined, Openreach support to the ISP's in the UK is nothing short of disgraceful! basically Matt had to persistently go through Openareach's L1 team, they sent 7 different engineers, all with the mindset that it had to be something in my house or in the cable back to the cabinet, it took until the 7th Opeanreach engineer to confirm the Street Cabinet had the congestion issue due to not being provisioned for the amount of connections! Kudos to Matt!!!! he never gave up

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name: Fibre Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2020    By: Tone
Title: Just ace.
Been with Uno since they were Xilo and after having ENDLESS hassle with BT back in the day, Uno are a breath of fresh air. Tickets are replied to FAST and politely, connection is ROCK SOLID, fixed IP, no port blocks, support the Open Rights Group, blah blah! Love em!

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Uno Fibre+
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.00 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*27.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3552)
  2. BT (3021)
  3. Politics (1935)
  4. Building Digital UK (1924)
  5. FTTC (1887)
  6. Openreach (1834)
  7. Business (1690)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1478)
  9. Statistics (1408)
  10. FTTH (1365)
  11. 4G (1276)
  12. Fibre Optic (1172)
  13. Virgin Media (1166)
  14. Wireless Internet (1159)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1147)
  16. Vodafone (845)
  17. EE (834)
  18. 5G (770)
  19. TalkTalk (769)
  20. Sky Broadband (747)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules