Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

uno Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
171 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Mar, 2020    By: Paul32
I moved from PlusNet to Uno a few months ago and haven't looked back at all. The transition was very smooth from Uno's side, and from the minute the switch-over occurred, everything has been positive. I wasn't expecting speeds to increase, but was pleasantly surprised to find I'm getting a higher sync speed since the switch-over and actual throughput is higher as well, ping is nice and low too.

The coronavirus lockdown has highlighted that not all ISPs are created equal, as I've witnessed the frustrations colleagues are having with their ISPs, but Uno just keeps on being fast and reliable, super pleased I made the switch.


Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: Duo Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Mar, 2020    By: robmar0se
Have been with Uno (Xilo) for 10 years - what I really liked was the tremendous fast response to issues.

However over 12 months, we have had several issues with Uno's email forwarding systems

Uno support are unable or won't resolve.


So regretably after 10 years we have to find a new home - much regretted.

Reply to UNO response.

Economical with the truth - in all cases examples were given.

(1) We would see messages on Mailwasher, but not on their webmail system FACT - the latter is a service they provide.

(2) UNO is changing the webmail service. we gave 2 examples were in the current webmail service we could see in 1 case an inline picture, and another with a separate attachment - the new system which switches over in April, neither of these items show - FACT. Again these are services provided by UNO over which we have no control.
It doesn't make sense to replace 1 system with another which is unreliable.

We no longer have any confidence in UNOs services

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Soho 100
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 20th Mar, 2020

We appreciate the feedback, especially when it is fair. However, in this case we don't believe it is, especially where that service isn't provided by us.

The customer reported issues with a service indirectly provided and the claims of missing messages could never be proven. In a choice of one of three third party webmail clients, the missing messages could be seen and viewed.

Further more, the customer reported that two emails were missing attachments when in fact these messages were using inline encoded content to make up a HTML formatted message. When rendered, the attachments do not show because they form part of the message.

There is certainly no issue that we are unable, or won't resolve but can only do so where there is evidence that such problem exists and this was not the case.

Notably we do not provide an email forwarding system and have never done so in the past.

Posted: 05th Feb, 2020    By: KingJim
Title: Great ISP
Very happy!

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Aug, 2019    By: thehiker
Four years ago I took out a capped ADSL2+ SOHO broadband service with UNO. I had become increasingly unhappy with the variable speed and connection reliability of my previous mainstream ISP. I subsequently also moved my phone line to UNO.

The stability and reliability of my broadband product has been excellent, as has been UNO's support on the few occasions when I have raised non-technical support tickets. I have not had any technical problems to raise. I have been able to get very cheap phone line rental by paying for one year in advance and phone calls are incredibly cheap.

As a personal user, I found an upgrade to UNO's more business grade Superfast Fibre offer to be rather expensive. A recent support ticket asking UNO about any cheaper FTTC alternatives coincided with the week in which they announced the new Duo product range. After several support tickets seeking clarification about the new Duo products, I felt reassured and ordered the Duo Pro 40/10 product. I am now in my second week as a UNO Duo user and am very satisfied with my FTTC broadband service. Download and upload speeds are consistent with the predictions for my line.

UNO is an attractive option - they provide an excellent service and now with the launch of the Duo products, they also offer very good value for the home user.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: SOHO broadband and now Duo Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Aug, 2019    By: doublerabbit
From day one its just worked. Got home from work, not looking forward to all the fun you have to do with other providers to get your internet working.

Was I in for a surprise. It worked. Plugged all cables and entered user/password and vola! Internet.

Currently live in the city centre where fibre isn't available and the connection & line to the old flat isn't the greatest, but mind you this has been the best I've had in a long while.

If more companies were like uno, the world would be a better place. I feel well assured that the quality I'm getting will last, and that there is support around the corner if I need it. No complaints. Solid.

It has all the features I need plus it just works. It works as it should if not better. Seeing as I work in the internet tech field I was astonished how Uno can do everything so correct and any others so wrong. Give uno a try, scrap any of the mainstream crap you see because they really are quite crap.

Uptime: 28 days 2 hours 9 mins 48 secs since Day1

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Feb, 2019    By: stuartjohnston
Outstanding customer service! Highly recommended.

Our installation was into a new build which complicated matters. Matt and team where just amazing at chasing down OpenReach and keeping us informed throughout the process. (They even secured compensation from OpenReach for a number of missed appointments.)

Uno went above and beyond, and beyond again to get our line installed and broadband activated.

Perfect service.

Thanks so much!

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Aug, 2018    By: Grazzer
I have been with Uno for 5 months and have started having slow speed issues. Uno support managed to organise a Saturday appointment straight with Openreach, but unfortunately probably over stated the charges. That said, their support was simpy excellent, and eventually the speed recovered possibly more as a result of luck form Openreach. Their support was the best I have come across, responsive, supportive and informative, something no other provider has managed to achieve.

In the sea of bland providers offering 'me to' solutions, Uno has stood out as one of the best you can get, something that the others can learn from. Thanks to Matt for taking responsibility for the issue and managing my frustration. His intelligent replies really did make the difference. Thank you Uno.

Time With Provider: 5 Months
Package Name: Fibre January 2018 special
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Jan, 2018    By: paradise
I have dealt with many independent and major ISPs over the years, the best of which was BE Broadband. I recently switched two very different sites to Uno - one in London and another in a very remote rural location. The changeover was seemless in both locations with updates provided regularly until completed.

At the remote rural site, there were terrible line noise problems (inherited from BT's stewardship of the line) which also resulted in appalling broadband. Uno responded to a support request on a Sunday evening and an Openreach engineer attended within 48 hours. Despite the engineer declaring that there were no issues, Uno refused to close the fault with Openreach and arranged a further visit from an engineer who again declared that there was no fault. If this had been BT, they and I would have given up at this point but Uno persisted and escalated the issue at Openreach. The next morning a more experienced engineer was sent out who identified several line faults within minutes. Such dogged pursuit of Openreach and committed Customer Support is to be applauded.

The customer portal is friendly, detailed and unlike BT, Sky and other large corporate players it does not try and force you to buy crappy add-ons that you don't need.

Overall I cannot recommend this company's services enough. Well done Uno!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Oct, 2017    By: JoQuinn
Title: Unhelpful
I switched to Uno after the collapse of Fast.co.uk. The setup was relatively painless and quick but the support is terrible.

I have a long line that has intermittent issues. With Fast getting this solved was one phone call, they kept at Openreach until the issue was solved.

However Uno don't want to know, I log a call as the line disconnects 50 times a day and I get told BT cannot find a fault on my line .. simply because during the 2 mins of testing it behaves itself.

I will be finding a new ISP that supports its customers rather than its suppliers.

----------------------------------

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by uno Follows (DO NOT REMOVE) Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

It's sad to hear of the problems this customer has had, however, we do not support Openreach and/or suppliers in accepting this as the norm.

If after all our testing and where the cause of any fault cannot be determined or service testing as faulty we offer an engineer visit. That response clearly explains that no fault remotely could be detected and as such, an engineer has to be arranged as per standard process that any provider would need to follow. We have a lot of monitoring in place, the majority of which can be seen in the customer portal.

Depending on the fault reported, testing is certainly never in the region of minutes and an issue is never ruled out after such little time

We do invite this customer to get in touch to discuss this in more detail as we believe that our response has been misconstrued compared to our actual intentions.

--------------------------------

How can a line that disconnects 20 times an hour *not* be faulty?

Give me a name and number to contact .. please don't say the support desk as I have been around this issue too many times with them now.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Aug, 2017    By: zofbtb
I've been using Uno Broadband Talk Surf (ADSL) for the past 16 months. The only reason I'm leaving is that Talk Fibre isn't available where I live.

Pros: excellent support, good value (~£23/month), cheap PAYG calls, used TT Business so I could tweak the SNR on my router to get 17Mbps, free web hosting with PHP and a MySql database.

Cons: website looks a bit dated - could do with being made responsive (not that it affects the service) and Talk Fibre coverage is limited.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2658)
  2. FTTP (2464)
  3. FTTC (1724)
  4. Building Digital UK (1663)
  5. Politics (1545)
  6. Openreach (1515)
  7. Business (1329)
  8. FTTH (1237)
  9. Statistics (1159)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1133)
  11. Fibre Optic (1021)
  12. 4G (979)
  13. Wireless Internet (974)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (973)
  15. Virgin Media (940)
  16. EE (656)
  17. Sky Broadband (640)
  18. TalkTalk (620)
  19. Vodafone (608)
  20. 3G (442)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules