Reviews » Mobile Broadband » 

EE Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
14 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 09th Feb, 2022    By: dialanothernumb
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Connection:
Speeds of 60-90 mbps are typical in my area, on the coast, 5 miles from the nearest mast, across a large bay, with line of sight. I have the ZTE MF286R modem which supports LTE+ and I am impressed with the speed improvements over the year that I have had the service. In this area, the other networks have proved less resilient or predictable than EE. Price-wise 4GEE is on the slightly higher side but still relatively modest in comparison to other bills. I have unlimited (own router) for £25/mo on an 18 month contract.
Customer Service:
I have been very happy with the billing enquiry part of EE's customer service, which is very friendly, polite and efficient.
Technical support:
The only part of EE's mobile broadband service that I find disappointing is tech support. Like many others, I find the CG-NAT limitations on the EE network frustrating, but I understand there is a need to manage the limited IPv4 address pool carefully. I want to run a modest home server and access it remotely but I can't because CG-NAT addresses are not specific to one connection. The only other solution is an IPv6 address for my server but no-one in EE seems to know how to set this up.
I have solved this in a clunky way by setting up L2TP service with aaisp.net.


Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: unlimited
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 13th Jan, 2021    By: anglia
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Purchased the EE-E71 Router from Currys online together with an EE Sim
Installed router with no problem
The Sim pack stated "Enough data to get you started"
Registered Sim and then carried out Speed Test - download speed 35Mb/s then it froze
It appeared I had used up my 100Mb allowance
To top-up online on my account, I was only given minimal choices like 100, 500Mb and 1Gb - no good at all
I ordered a new 30Gb Data Sim, I received no acknowledgment to my order but Customer Services told me it would arrive - waited a week nothing
Two calls to CS referred me to the Community Forum - they just told me to Ring CS
Nobody had the slightest interest in helping me out.
The last straw, I was told to call their 0793 premium Rate number to top up my original Sim
or I could put the SIM in my PAYG mobile and pay 25/min. I queried would EE see that as a 30Gb Top-up to my phone rather than the E71 - didn`t know the answer, told me to ask that question on the Community Forum
By this time mentally exhausted and abandoned any hope of ever using EE Mobile Broadband
I will get the Router unlocked and try another mobile provider


Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 07th Jan, 2021    By: Lucian
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
I'm using an EE unlimited data SIM in a 5G router and it works great.

I realise it's location dependent, but so far so good, no downtime in more than 6 months and avg speeds of 300/80 Mbps.

Haven't had any problems with CGNAT for regular usage, browsing, videoconferencing, remote work etc. I did have to disable IPv6 in the APN as it was causing issues.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name: Unlimited data, pay monthly sim
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 24th Feb, 2020    By: cg0
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
I switched to EE after leaving Three and have been mostly happy for now, but there's more to it than that.

I'm on a 5G plan in an area with a lot of 5G so I'm happy with speed, until I start going into my home. There appears to be some big issues in the area which EE still have not fixed. Indoors calls will drop out, data will either be slow or not work at all and I'll randomly get a notification that EE has paused my data (system message from the phone)

This was constantly blamed on my property having thick walls despite other providers not having issues with it, late at night I decided to do a speedtest and managed to get 90mbps on 4G, thought great it's sorted, then in the morning I did the same test in the same spot and it wouldn't connect.

Obviously this is a very local issue and the remainder of the network works very well however it seems EE doesn't care to fix localised issues.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name: Unlimited 5G Smart
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 17th Nov, 2014    By: xxMariaxx
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I joined EE for the new iphone and while I love the phone, the customer service is poor. I had a complaint about their service after some scammer charged fees to my account from a fake facebook link. The advisor repeatedly insisted I had ordered or agreed to something, but i didn't. I had to speak to three people to get it sorted and get a block put on the scam charges. hopefully, I'll remember all this when my contract is up, which is currently AGES away :(

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 31st Jul, 2014    By: DTMark
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: EE 4G
No useful landline broadband available here, so dependent on mobile services.

Used Three for several years and moved to EE 4G when launched.

We are toward the edge of the coverage area. Used the supplied Alcatel dongle initially and eventually bought an Huawei B593 router though performance is about the same.

Normal performance is 25Meg down and 20Meg up and the average ping time is about 26ms.

Speed tests always seem to reflect "Orange" as the carrier.

It's great when it's working. Either the dongle or the network developed a fault falling back to 3G only, never determined which, but thankful that I did not have a contract - we use PAYG.

It's £30 for each 10GB so it costs us in the region of £120 to £150 per month, that said, this is incredibly cheap for this location for that level of near-symmetric performance.

Customer service appears to be non existent. The only numbers you can call are mobile numbers which are expensive given that we do not have either a landline or an EE phone.

There is no given number for "mobile broadband" support and calling usually results in you being transferred several times, as if nobody in the company actually knows who is responsible for what.

The second line tech team do seem rather good when you can reach them however, and don't try to fob you off in the same manner that Three do - for instance, by insisting on emptying the browser temporary files to try to resolve a connectivity issue when these things are clearly unrelated.

The only written means of contact appears to be a complaint form on their website. On using this, I received no reply whatsoever in relation to the issue I had.

Finally, EE uses CGNAT which limits the usefulness of the service. Things like YouTube TV (sync between your mobile and your TV) and sites behind paywalls or those with flood control detection simply do not work. So factor in the cost of a VPN in addition to the cost of the service, as you will require it.

I would recommend on the basis of the performance, but not on the basis of customer service, and would suggest not entering into any long term contract until the merger of Orange and T-Mobile is completed and the company can present cohesive and useful service and support levels.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 13th Nov, 2013    By: NUT
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Nothing nice to say about EE 4G. I am a t-mobile customer and I was constantly called by EE to go on to 4G. I eventually relented and gave in (as I was promised FREE cinema tickets and FREE EE Movies which of course turned out not to be free) imagine my surprise though when I got the sim card and of course 4G didn't work (and to compound matters 4G isn't even available in my area) so basically hounded to go on to a service I can't even get ;) Eventually I got switched back to t-mobile with a better sim option for me so not all bad but EE 4G not worth the hassle

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 16th Oct, 2013    By: harryhenley
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
T-Mobile UK Provide a good and mostly reliable service in my area.
Ive been a Monthly Buyer of their £5 per month Internet service for 18months.
However I find on numerous occasions my request for a monthly internet service, after topping up, are deliberatly and blatently Ignored by

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 14th Sep, 2013    By: DanielMS
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: not good
not the best service. claims averages of 24-30Mbps. however I have yet to see more than 16Mbps (Typical average of 7-9mbps in a double speed area). And the way they manage the IP network results in problems with some apps (such as the cloud gaming service onlive) they have an army of proxy servers which also causes a rise in ping.

In the city (Liverpool) i have seen as low as 3Mbps! customer service is next to useless.

Pings average 60ms-130ms

I get better results from my 3G service (which typically gives me around 14Mbps with a max of 23Mbps)




Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 08th Sep, 2012    By: xyz
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
T-Mobile UK Provide a good and mostly reliable service in my area.
Ive been a Monthly Buyer of their £5 per month Internet service for 18months.
However I find on numerous occasions my request for a monthly internet service, after topping up, are deliberatly and blatently Ignored by
T-Mobile specifically, to then detract a daily rate from my topped up £5 Forcing me to buy the next one down which is a 5day internet service which is £2.50 -That is Blatent PennyGrabbing at a time when Ive No More Money.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5399)
  2. BT (3490)
  3. Politics (2495)
  4. Openreach (2276)
  5. Business (2225)
  6. Building Digital UK (2215)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1942)
  9. Statistics (1764)
  10. 4G (1640)
  11. Virgin Media (1594)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1438)
  13. Fibre Optic (1380)
  14. FTTH (1379)
  15. Wireless Internet (1379)
  16. 5G (1216)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (918)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules