Reviews » Mobile Broadband » 

EE Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
10 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Nov, 2014    By: xxMariaxx
I joined EE for the new iphone and while I love the phone, the customer service is poor. I had a complaint about their service after some scammer charged fees to my account from a fake facebook link. The advisor repeatedly insisted I had ordered or agreed to something, but i didn't. I had to speak to three people to get it sorted and get a block put on the scam charges. hopefully, I'll remember all this when my contract is up, which is currently AGES away :(

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jul, 2014    By: DTMark
Title: EE 4G
No useful landline broadband available here, so dependent on mobile services.

Used Three for several years and moved to EE 4G when launched.

We are toward the edge of the coverage area. Used the supplied Alcatel dongle initially and eventually bought an Huawei B593 router though performance is about the same.

Normal performance is 25Meg down and 20Meg up and the average ping time is about 26ms.

Speed tests always seem to reflect "Orange" as the carrier.

It's great when it's working. Either the dongle or the network developed a fault falling back to 3G only, never determined which, but thankful that I did not have a contract - we use PAYG.

It's £30 for each 10GB so it costs us in the region of £120 to £150 per month, that said, this is incredibly cheap for this location for that level of near-symmetric performance.

Customer service appears to be non existent. The only numbers you can call are mobile numbers which are expensive given that we do not have either a landline or an EE phone.

There is no given number for "mobile broadband" support and calling usually results in you being transferred several times, as if nobody in the company actually knows who is responsible for what.

The second line tech team do seem rather good when you can reach them however, and don't try to fob you off in the same manner that Three do - for instance, by insisting on emptying the browser temporary files to try to resolve a connectivity issue when these things are clearly unrelated.

The only written means of contact appears to be a complaint form on their website. On using this, I received no reply whatsoever in relation to the issue I had.

Finally, EE uses CGNAT which limits the usefulness of the service. Things like YouTube TV (sync between your mobile and your TV) and sites behind paywalls or those with flood control detection simply do not work. So factor in the cost of a VPN in addition to the cost of the service, as you will require it.

I would recommend on the basis of the performance, but not on the basis of customer service, and would suggest not entering into any long term contract until the merger of Orange and T-Mobile is completed and the company can present cohesive and useful service and support levels.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Nov, 2013    By: NUT
Nothing nice to say about EE 4G. I am a t-mobile customer and I was constantly called by EE to go on to 4G. I eventually relented and gave in (as I was promised FREE cinema tickets and FREE EE Movies which of course turned out not to be free) imagine my surprise though when I got the sim card and of course 4G didn't work (and to compound matters 4G isn't even available in my area) so basically hounded to go on to a service I can't even get ;) Eventually I got switched back to t-mobile with a better sim option for me so not all bad but EE 4G not worth the hassle

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Oct, 2013    By: harryhenley
T-Mobile UK Provide a good and mostly reliable service in my area.
Ive been a Monthly Buyer of their £5 per month Internet service for 18months.
However I find on numerous occasions my request for a monthly internet service, after topping up, are deliberatly and blatently Ignored by

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Sep, 2013    By: DanielMS
Title: not good
not the best service. claims averages of 24-30Mbps. however I have yet to see more than 16Mbps (Typical average of 7-9mbps in a double speed area). And the way they manage the IP network results in problems with some apps (such as the cloud gaming service onlive) they have an army of proxy servers which also causes a rise in ping.

In the city (Liverpool) i have seen as low as 3Mbps! customer service is next to useless.

Pings average 60ms-130ms

I get better results from my 3G service (which typically gives me around 14Mbps with a max of 23Mbps)




Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Sep, 2012    By: xyz
T-Mobile UK Provide a good and mostly reliable service in my area.
Ive been a Monthly Buyer of their £5 per month Internet service for 18months.
However I find on numerous occasions my request for a monthly internet service, after topping up, are deliberatly and blatently Ignored by
T-Mobile specifically, to then detract a daily rate from my topped up £5 Forcing me to buy the next one down which is a 5day internet service which is £2.50 -That is Blatent PennyGrabbing at a time when Ive No More Money.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Aug, 2011    By: Kits
I decided to stick with Orange when I looked for a mobile internet for my laptop.

The cost is good considering I can connect anywhere to their wireless broadband, they have a good display which shows how much you have used when you disconnect.

Second year with this dongle and speeds in same location have become unuseable 34kbps down and 1kbps up.

I have no need for Orange webspace or emails just £15 a month 1.5GB 18month contract.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jun, 2011    By: Romulinx2
Easy to setup and connects without problems.
Slow download speed in a strong signal area?
Called support, fobed of with working on mast...lol
Called again after the supposed work was finished. Obviously no change.
Someone knew what they were talking about and told me settings for dongle. Added these then faster than BT home broadband...lol.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Sep, 2009    By: Dave Canter
I have been using this product for 1 year now. Firstly, unlimited means after you hit 3Gb you would get a letter (now replaced with text message and a webpage when you start browsing) month 3 and they send me another letter saying that unless you stay under 3Gb you will be restricted to a connection speed of 56k between the hours of 4pm and 12 am. but between the hours of 10am and 10pm i cant usually get a connection over 56k any way.

i got this broadband with a free (£20 more a month) laptop. meaning that i have to pay £35 a month not £15, what i effectly get for my money is an internet connection that rivals the one i had in 2000 for speeds, that ran slow all the time but the net wasnt so bandwidth hungry, and you always got your page eventually, now i have to keep refreshing as my computer doesnt realise that im still connected.

T-Mobile use image compression meaning you have to refresh every image you want to see clearly (shift-r/ctrl f5). also this doesnt work at all on facebook

i live in a good signal area, my friend lives in a very good. i get a reasonable connection at my friends, sometimes, others i just cant connect. at home, remember that this is a good according to the website i get 49%... on a good day, the rest of the time its ticking between 0% and 19%, nothing between, back and forth, back and forth (it does nothing while its flicking either)

as a round up, unless you live in a caravan or some other place that doesnt stay still, dont bother with this, get plugged into the wall and get a good speed and unlimited that really is unlimited. if this was acting at best, max speed, no limit, ideal situation type of thing... you would still have a dongle hanging out of your laptop that now and again you will knock and it will disconnect, i have a cable extender on mine (i dont dare put it right into the side of the lappy in case i accidently snap it or something)

get a demo instore to see what the image compression looks like, and then get their new prepay one for a trial (it will allow you to see what you are going to get for the next year and a half, and save you the stress that i have had)

i'd say,
Unlimited = Lie, its 3Gb limit
7.2 connection = never 100-150 connection at best wich in download speeds is around 56k per second

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jan, 2009    By: sparkatb
£15/month, free USB-stick/dongle, 18 month contract. 1GB/month cap but no extra cost if you go over, they dont seem all that bothered anyway. Been using it for 3 months.

One of the reasons i chose T-Mobile is because of the free unlimited access to the national Wi-Fi "hot spots" which is great whenever i want to use the internet in some cafe or where ever.

On the T-mobile website they got my home street coverage rating as "Very good" (4 of 5 bars), i live in Stourbridge, West Midlands - a very large built up area, and my next door neighbour is the greenbelt - im on the outskirt of town and still got a decent signal from home.

Ive done some tests from time to time from home, using download test sites and downloading different files - some of them each from different server-websites for faster download to get real results.
On average i get:
download: 60-150KB/sec, thats about 1 to 1.5mb
upload: 40-50KB/sec, thats almost 0.5mb
The maximum official ("upto") download limit im supposed to be able to get is 7.2mb.

For online gamers:
Considering ive only as of yet tested from home which is located quite a bit away from a local phone mast...
Ping times are fine, except for FPS type games.
My cable broadband 50mb - Virgin Media landline has very good ping times, and compared to this mobile broadband its about 20-80ms worse than cable/adsl. Checked on WoW, Everquest 2, Battlefield 2.

Sometimes, the connection will lag worse and worse over a couple/few minutes. Ive found by clicking reconnect, then the lag is gone.

Services 8, would give it a 10 if the network wasnt so congested.
Support 10, not had any need for support other than a billing enquiry at the local shop.
Speed 7, very rarely spiking upto 200kb/sec which is 3ish mb? half of the "theoretical maximum" they advertise.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2486)
  2. FTTP (2138)
  3. FTTC (1645)
  4. Building Digital UK (1589)
  5. Openreach (1400)
  6. Politics (1397)
  7. Business (1222)
  8. Statistics (1087)
  9. FTTH (1041)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1019)
  11. Fibre Optic (963)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (907)
  13. Wireless Internet (894)
  14. 4G (882)
  15. Virgin Media (850)
  16. Sky Broadband (591)
  17. EE (582)
  18. TalkTalk (571)
  19. Vodafone (506)
  20. Security (408)
EE - Mobile Broadband Rated 2.5 / 5 based on 10 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules