Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

EE Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
94 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th May, 2021    By: Anthony Robinson
I arranged the service but it never worked properly from the start. I had 4 engineers visit but couldn't diagnose the problem. I made 3 or 4 calls per week to their customer services since Jan but they couldn't rsolve it. I had to retain Virgin on a monthly basis whilst EE was trying to resolve the problem. I cancelled in April and they are billing me £546.58 cancellation charges for a service that didn't work and didnt meet the contractual standards. This is woeful. They also deny that the engineers ever identified a problem and they can't find the telephone calls that were recorded. This is like the postmasters case that the problem is with those who are complaining about the service, and the EE system is infallible. Imagine buying a car and what is delivered does not have any doors, steering wheel or tyres and being told that they delivered the car to you so you have to pay for it and that you have to also have to pay a cancellation penalty fee

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Jan, 2021    By: DJtn
I was involved with a slamming incident where sky took over my line in error. EE did a very poor job with resolving the issue.

They charged me an early termination fee cancelled my line and told me the only way they could fix it would be to get us to sign up to a new 18 month contract.

We've had to go through the ombudsman complaints process because EE was determined to have us signed up to a longer contract with them.

Time With Provider: 8 Months
Package Name: ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Oct, 2020    By: EE ARE USELESS
I'm at a loss as to how something can be this bad. How a company can be this incompetent and useless. Being with EE is like pulling teeth.

We'll start with speed. It's abysmal. 500kb/s on a good day. 0 on a bay day, which is most days.

We're paying ~£35/month + line rental, for dial up speeds and days of downtime at a time. I can hardly do anything. Imagine if I had to work from home, I simply would not be able to.

Customer "service" are about as unhelpful as someone could possibly be. Insisting that nothing is wrong, because when they do a line test it seems to magically sort itself out. Then we end the call, and boom, back to 1990s internet.

We can't change isp either, apparently there are no free slots at the exchange. Whatever that means...

So we are stuck with a team of criminals taking our hard earned money and giving us nothing.

In these dire times, internet is essential. It is a lifeline. I cannot tell you how terrifying it is to be completely cut off from the world. But that's EE for you. They don't care about service. They care about lining their pockets.

Avoid at all costs. If I can save just one poor soul from these monsters I'll be happy.

EE, you have ruined my life.

Time With Provider: 12 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th May, 2020    By: IH8EE
Goes down almost every night at around the same time, sometimes for hours on end, customer support tells us to turn it off and on again, as if that isn't the first thing we do.. When it's not down, the speed is atrocious. I can't believe I'm having to deal with dial-up speeds and hours of nightly downtime in the year 2020, but here we are...

Avoid EE like the plague, unless your only other option is BT, who are even worse.

Time With Provider: 12 Years
Package Name: Home broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st May, 2020    By: PW5
I have swapped my Virgin Media Cable service to EE Broadband's Fibre 1 (G.Fast) service, which is up to about 140mbps via the BT Network (certain areas only I believe).
So far I very pleased with an actual download speed of 130.9 mbps (max), even though I am about 335m from my local cabinet.
I installed the BT ZTLink MT992 Modem myself, linking to a Asus Wi-Fi Router.
the only problem I had was porting my landline from VM to EE, but the main problem was VM's, not releasing the number.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Fibre 1 (G.Fast)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Jul, 2019    By: Neif1983
Connection keeps disconnecting a few times a day. Got the support team involved, no fix. YouTube and other streaming services buffer every day. Can't play online because the lag is unbelievable! AVOID!!

Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Mar, 2019    By: cdlnet
After enduring years of hopeless broadband through BT, I switched to EE's 4G offering. My current set up gives an amazing 112 Mbps download and 39 Mbps upload, and we are a couple of miles away from the nearest station.
The setup comprises a Poynting external aerial feeding a top-end Huawei modem. Well pleased with the performance.
Getting through to customer services is quite a trial, and we've had one or two problems with billing, but I can put up with that - you rarely need to contact them.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jan, 2018    By: IceBoy
Excellent all round service.

I can't really fault them...If I was being picky, I would say they could be a little cheaper.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Jan, 2017    By: ajones65
I switched to EE around six months ago after a bad experience with TalkTalk and its billing department/hacking etc. EE offered 50% discount, signed up switched over, and then the price discount was removed. Several complaint calls anf they reinstated the 50% discount. Also they offer an extra 10GB mobile data for existing mobile customers, they failed to point out that if you already have 20GB they wont apply anothe 10, in the small print but I missed it, so my fault but they did say they would on the phone.

Speed wise it was quicker for the majority of the time in Comparison to TalkTalk and also BT my previous supplier, BUT they did suffer major latency issues, also using their DNS did create issues with DNS lookup fail. So I always used Google DNS instead. With price change mid contract I was offered a no fee exit , so I have taken the options and switched to Vodafone Home Broadband. Customer service is not very good as they dont even understand their own bills and i have had to explain for instance now that I have left why they owe me money due to billing errors which is not very good.

Router was ok, except with apple kit, so ended up buying a better one so that impacts the value


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Dec, 2016    By: Cbarrett
This company has caused nothing but headaches since getting their broadband service. I finally decided to switch providers but even after receiving confirmation of cancellation back in May, I was still being charged. I then had to inform my bank that payment should not be sent to this company. After speaking to 5 different customer service representatives telling me that all has been rectified, this morning I get a call from billing trying to know why I haven't paid! Mind you, I've been with another company for several months, getting excellent service that doesn't drop every hour and I still have to deal with a garbage company like EE. After speaking with the EE representative again, a few minutes later I get a text from my current company stating that my service has been cancelled as requested. I was informed by my current company that a service provider has seized my service with them in order to take over my account!!!! When I contacted EE they claimed that they didn't do it. I find it really suspicious that shortly after speaking with an EE representative, my current company's service is seized by EE! What evil people! Now I have to wait two weeks for my service to be reinstated by my current company who by the way has been doing an excellent job as my service provider. If EE thinks I will deal with them again, I will never. I hope everyone sees this review. Tell your friends and family not to deal with this dishonest and sneaky company. Evil people! When I was with EE, they provided horrible service and were dishonest in their dealing even after I cancelled my account with them. I hope never to deal with this again.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • TalkTalk £22.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERSPRING
  • Shell Energy £22.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: 12 Months of Norton 360
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*36.52)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Offer Code: SPRUCE20
  • Vodafone £26.00 (*29.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERSPRING
  • TalkTalk £29.95 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3220)
  2. BT (2928)
  3. Building Digital UK (1855)
  4. FTTC (1852)
  5. Politics (1837)
  6. Openreach (1753)
  7. Business (1593)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1377)
  9. FTTH (1359)
  10. Statistics (1354)
  11. 4G (1185)
  12. Fibre Optic (1129)
  13. Wireless Internet (1110)
  14. Virgin Media (1102)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1101)
  16. EE (787)
  17. Vodafone (779)
  18. TalkTalk (736)
  19. Sky Broadband (715)
  20. 5G (672)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules