Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

EE Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
91 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st May, 2015    By: itguru
EE Broadband are one of the worst isp's I have ever used. They might be fine for our mobile phones, but not for broadband! They will traffic shape your internet line and downgrade the service from 13mb, to less than 8mb!

My girlfriend wanted to get the mac code to leave the isp as its in her name, and they did nothing but bully her, reading out terms and conditions to her on the phone! Who do you think you are EE?! It is our right if we want to leave, do you know what, not your right?! I asked her to make sure that they email her mac code, as by law as enforced by Ofcom an ISP can be fined or liable to not handing over the mac code.

Shocking, aggressive woman, no need for it! Your job as a support person is to ask questions, take feedback and move on! Chalk it up you lost another customer EE, move on! Your not in the business of providing professional Internet service, leave it to the independent internet providers!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Mar, 2015    By: Romulinx2
Title: EE (FTTB)
Very reliable, fast 74Mb download, 18.5Mb upload.
Cant fault it.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Dec, 2014    By: Lu62
Title: Terrible
As per the previous user comments, I am also counting the days until the contract with EE is up. Shockingly slow connection speed, untold numbers of telephone calls to their support service but the issues raised have never been resolved. Missing my old O2 broadband service, even missing Sky.
EE offer was cheap but so is their service. Never ever again.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Oct, 2014    By: cpd4242
Shocking speed, shocking service. Counting the days until my contract is up.

Bring back Sky / plusnet - all is forgiven.

I could not give a zero score otherwise I would have done. Don't fall for the cash offers - look elsewhere..

Best dash, off to phone India again about my speed, paying for 38 and getting 15...

nice

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jul, 2014    By: kevhamster
Title: Terrible
I moved to EE from O2's Home Broadband, which I had been very happy with. O2 was switching to Sky, and as I wanted to upgrade to a fibre connection it seemed like a good time.

I was tempted by EE primarily due to their low price (at the time) to other fibre connections.

Bad move!

Firstly, I was charged a £50 connection fee, when it was supposed to be free. They apparently couldn't refund me, all they could do was to reduce my next two bills accordingly. Never mind I hadn't budgeted for an extra £50 to come out that month!

Then, the connection. Well, frankly it's rubbish. Constant disoonnections. Downloads and video streaming stopping partway through for no good reason.

Want to do online gaming? Good luck. Occasionally you'll get a session where you can play without lagging out the entire game for you and the other players. That's if it doesn't disconnect for no good reason.

Want to use P2P technology for anything? No chance if it's during peak hours, as due to EE's traffic shaping, you'll get download speeds of 0.5kb per second.

Not to mention, tech support is based abroad and is frankly hopeless. If their script doesn't allow for your issue, then you have no chance of getting it resolved.

Due to the issues I've had, EE have given me my MAC code and allowed me to disconnect without the usual fee only 9 months into my contract with them (18 month contract). In fact, giving me my MAC code is the only thing they've managed to do without any hassle or errors.

EE is a terrible ISP. Avoid at all costs.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jul, 2014    By: marke_one
Title: Avoid EE
Having been another of the BE there punters who didn't want to end up with Murdoch wares. I went with a cheap deal with my mobile provider and oh my had a I wished I had not!

The initial service was ok. Varying pings and speeds, but it was relatively stable for the first couple of months.

I then reported a drop in upload speed to 0.02mbs
I then went through around 20/30 tech support people who just washed themselves of the problem trying to say 'We don't support upload speed'

Horrendous tech support, weeks wasted with script led idiots.
Attrocious Customer service, wasted days trying to log complaints, only to get passed back to a tech support idiot.
Unusable complaints department. Having given up trying to have a telephone conversation with Complaints. I emailed in through the website. Got the obligatory Automated response of a call back within 48hours and 2 weeks later am still awaiting that call. Have logged subsequent complaints and also had no response.
Emailed Ofcom and emailed the cancellations department, I recieved a call the same day and having berated the tech support so much, I was given waiver of all disconnections fee's, given a MAC code and left them IMMEDIATELY!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Jan, 2014    By: willdone
I wanted to become an EE customer almost three months ago and went to an EE shop. This happened after I moved into my new home with no previous contract. Pretty clean sheet to start with (you would hope).

I bought the 30MB Fibre deal with All inclusive calls and extra mobile internet capacity for the mobile contract.

They setup my mobile account without any problem. However, my fibre connection turned into a real nightmare.

First, they gave me a date for an engineer visit two months after I purchased the deal. On the day of the engineer visit, nobody turned up and nobody bothered to call me.

I called them after 6:30 pm (which was the time I was supposed to wait until the engineer comes) and they told me that I should call the next day to set up a new day. I was already frustrated that I didn't have any internet connection for two months and now I was going to wait even longer.

Anyway, the next day they told me that the earliest the engineer can come was 2nd of January, 2014 (Today!!). I didn't do any holiday plans so that the internet can be setup as early as possible and accepted the date.

Today, I gave a call to EE in the morning to see if everything was allright. They told me that the engineer is NOT booked for today and there is no record of any appointments being setup!!!

After three months I am still without landline and home broadband and continue to use my neighbour's access (many thanks Gaurav!!).

I cancelled my order and am looking for a new deal now. Not from EE!!!

My mobile contract was going to benefit from an extra 20GB of internet data capacity due to fibre purchase and I am left with a mobile deal with less-than-enough data.

The people working in the customer services were kind but didn't help at all to reduce my frustration.

Sorry EE, but you need a lot of improvement to be customer-worthy.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Feb, 2013    By: Juicingood
Never had a single problem, at all!! when I was using Orange free(yes free) broadband service married up to my two mobile phone contracts. They were brilliant. Why the hell did I leave them. Of course not sure what EE is like now.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Feb, 2013    By: 1-a.t-7
Title: EE
Been having problems with EE/Orange for years. Atm, i am apparently in the 10 day BT line reset period and my speed started off at 2.8mbps and has gradually decreased to the 0.7 mbps that I am now receiving. EE have been most unhelpful, fobbing me off with ******** at every opportunity, as I call them regularly due to a constantly fluctuating speed which is usually below 1mb for the whole time I have used this company as my ISP. Surely I am receiving internet speeds below their contractual minimum and am entitled to terminate my contract and expect compensation for paying for a service I do not receive. I will wait for the ******** 10 day line stabilization period to finish and then demand my contract to be terminated if my optimum speed of 8mb is nowhere near reached.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jan, 2013    By: Simon_H
I have just completed a year's contract with Orange Home Broadband (7Mbps ADSL), originally in Westminster and then moved mid-way through to Aberdeen. Actual download speed achieved has been a maximum of 3.5Mbps.

Summary - Good
Overall, I did manage to get access to the internet for a lot of the time I was with Orange. The tariff was reasonable at the time of signing up.

Summary - Bad Points
At no point would I rate the quality of the connection as excellent. The house move was a disaster. There have been technical problems that I have had to research and fix myself. Tech Support / Customer service have been courteous and friendly, but there are severe competence issues.

Chronological Log of contact with Orange:
Oct 11: Set up broadband after a mis-selling debacle with BT. Set up goes efficiently and broadband works OK.

Apr 12: I find out I'm moving to Aberdeen with my job in a month. Contact Orange to notify them and arrange home move. Told to call back again one week before move. The dicking-about period begins.

Jun 12: After dozens of phone calls, an engineer appointment is arranged at a very inconvenient time, leaving me without internet for another fortnight. "The next one we can book is in 2 weeks" - could have been arranged when I called in April/May. Engineer fails to show at first appointment. Another 2 weeks, more phone calls, and finally the line is set up. Orange award 2 months free by way of compensation (only after a severe dressing-down over the phone).

Jul 12: After more phone calls (all costing money) and still no internet, Orange finally BEGIN their house-move process.

Aug 12: Internet is extremely tempramental and unreliable - worse than the days of a 56k Modem line. Tech support tell me to switch router off and on again. I google the problem and adjust router settings to fix it myself. Reliability problems solved but bandwidth remains poor (Skype video calls remain impossible).

Oct 12: Contract finally finished, Orange retention team did offer 2 months free as an incentive to stay, which I declined. The MAC Code has taken over a week and is yet to arrive by post, but has been read out to me over the phone. Have now ordered a switch over to Xilo, saving £2/mth and [potentially] quadrupling bandwidth. Should have visited this website (ISPreview) a year ago. I hold MoneySuperMarket.com responsible for the poor recommendation.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
  • Onestream £22.99 (*34.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2745)
  2. FTTP (2678)
  3. FTTC (1769)
  4. Building Digital UK (1724)
  5. Politics (1634)
  6. Openreach (1598)
  7. Business (1405)
  8. FTTH (1330)
  9. Statistics (1225)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1197)
  11. Fibre Optic (1048)
  12. 4G (1029)
  13. Wireless Internet (1011)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1005)
  15. Virgin Media (993)
  16. EE (680)
  17. Sky Broadband (663)
  18. TalkTalk (654)
  19. Vodafone (651)
  20. 5G (490)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules