Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Vodafone Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
22 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Mar, 2018    By: skidmann
Title: Not great
Poor service, which works OK during off-peak hours but lags and stalls badly during peak hours.

Downlink speed is generally fine (except during peak hours) but uplink is significantly slower than both previous ISP's (BT & Sky respectively) at all times.

Vodafone's own fibre modem/router is reasonable but doesn't allow much customisation. Vodafone will at least provide credentials for PPPoE which means you can use alternative equipment.

It's cheap, but unusable during peak hours.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Sep, 2017    By: horiz0n
Title: Very good
Switched to Vodafone from TalkTalk. Massive speed improvement, 37/9 even on evening peak.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Aug, 2017    By: digitaria
Moved to Vodafone 76mbps package from BT Infinity 2. BT's obfuscated billing drove me away. Vodafone package is £30/mth for 18 months, no additional line rental - simple!

Switchover was seamless. There was a little variation in sync speeds and latency initially, but this has now settled down. I have a slightly slower sync than I was getting with BT, but never any disconnections. Syncing at 62mbps or so, so downloading around 58 and upload of 20. Ping about 9ms.

I am using the supplied router for DHCP and modem purposes only, all devices come in via a separate wireless access point. Some people have reported that the Vodafone router can't handle more than a few wireless connections - I have had no such issues, but of course I'm not using its wireless facility. I contacted Vodafone customer services via live chat to get my authentication details, which they will provide if you quote an Openreach-approved router that you want to switch to. Now I'm using the Vodafone router as stated above, this is no longer required, but good to know you can use your own equipment if preferred.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Apr, 2017    By: rollers263
I have recently moved from BT after their shambolic raising of prices mid contract for the third time in 18 months. It was a bit of a gamble trying Vodafone, but one that has paid off. Everything went smoothly, only 30 mins of outage on the day of change over.
My daughters were always complaining about the BT wifi, but the Vodafone router and wifi is so much better, stronger signal all over the house.
Speed is at the max, 40mbps and zero drop outs.
Long may this continue
**Update** A couple of months on and it has been working perfectly all that time. No complaints here.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Jan, 2017    By: RedEars57
My experience of the Vodafone broadband and home phone service:

• Ordering the service took multiple attempts due to website issues.
• Several days later Vodafone cancelled the order after sending me a router.
• I called them and it was an error on their side, so they re-ordered the service including evening and weekend calls package.
• They sent me another router.
• Service was transferred from Sky. Phone seemed ok, but no broadband.
• Broadband turned out to be a BT issue that took 2 days to get sorted out.
• I spoke to their Customer Services who offered a 2 month refund on my rental.
• I received a bill. Vodafone were charging for time when I had no service.
• They had also debited my account for a sum, then credited it back for less.
• I didn’t have the evening and weekend calls package I ordered.
• Also, no refund on my rental.
• I then also found out that my service doesn’t have voicemail, despite the fact it was, and still is, advertised as having voicemail.

All the above happened in October / November last year. It has been reported, none of it has been fixed.

Finally I wrote to their CEO and got back a letter advising me to call their Tech support to solve my service interruptions. I have not complained about “service interruptions”.

The router they supply is junk. Wireless clients lose connectivity to wired devices like printer, NAS. The router still sees them all, but they cannot communicate without restarting the router. They won’t provide you with the username and password so that you can provide your own router.

Broadband performance is poor. I have the 38/10Mbps service. Performance was good initially, but now is generally around 20Mbps but can go as low as 7Mbps downstream. Upstream is usually OK, but I don’t upload a great deal.

I absolutely regret moving to Vodafone, both from the perspective of a rubbish service and equally bad “customer service”.

My advice would be “don’t do it”. The 8 weeks from my original written complaint is up soon, so I will be going to Ombudsman Services and hope I can get out of the contract.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Jan, 2017    By: ajones65
Title: A1 service
After having issues with BT /Talktalk/EE for very different reasons, two tech and one billing I decided to try the new kid on the block. Read loads of bad reviews if honest for all of them so decided to go by price.

Switched over on the agreed date by 9:30am which shocked me. ( big tick in the box)

Speed wise , higher than what I have had with BT/TalkTalk/EE in that order with BT the slowest, see other reviews for more info. No issues with latency. Now holding at 15GB on Fibre due to distance from cabinet. Usual bedding in speed changes at one point I thought I was going to get 17GB but it has now loked at 15GB which I am well pleased with at £22 including free line rental. Very stable service, billing all works via single app on phone for Mobile/Broadband and Landline calls. Yes calls are slightly more expensive but I use my mobile as unlimited calls so my landline is very much redundant now.

So yes I know Vodafone has had some billing issues etc as seen on older for reviews but for me I have had zero problems. Faster speed than all my other 3 suppliers over past 18 months , no latency issues or billing issues. So for me happy I swapped plus cashback of £32 quid cashback from Broadband Genie.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Oct, 2016    By: scottpot
I've recently switched from standard Sky broadband to Vodafone Superfast fibre.

If you are looking to change be aware of these important points;-

** The main 'issue' is that, unlike most other ISP's, they force you to use their Vodafone Connect router. It's a terrible router which grinds to a halt when you have more than a handful of things operating. (Do a search for 'Vodafone router problems' and see for yourself).
** This router is 'locked down' and they don't provide the admin details in order to make many technical changes
** Despite achieving the stated minimum speeds, which should be twice as fast as Sky, there is significantly more latency, buffering & drop outs occurring when streaming movies and even viewing images on Facebook!
** I have a multi-room media server which should connect to the router via an ethernet cable -- it simply won't work with the Vodafone Connect router...

In summary, the headline speed is not the only thing to consider!




Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Sep, 2016    By: UnhappyChappy
Title: Loyalty??
I started web-life with Demon around 1991, before there was a windows version, and have kept the basis of my address since then. Various changes of owner have caused service fluctuation but after building up a range of business and personal contacts I felt it was too tedious to change address, so stayed on.

Near the centre of London where I lived 15 years ago I was getting a splendidly fast ADSL service but moving 60 miles away also meant further from exchange &c so slower speeds - a bit less than paid for as opposed to about 50% more in London.

Telephone support was 24*7 so I used to feel smug about this when talking to others but of course it now varies rather more in quality and accessibility. Fortunately I have not needed it and in at least one case they were able to track down line-drops to internal wiring in this older house. The main issue locally is that nobody gets top speeds on ADSL.

Given my history with the company I was somewhat surprised when, soon after Vodaphone took over from the previous owner, a friend said she had been told that they were no longer offering "free email". Since my contract was originally a business account I supposed that was why I was still OK. Imagine then my surprise and outrage when given 30 days before my email disappeared. Oh, I could keep my address if I sign up the special arrangement with Namesco - at , of course, an additional annual fee!!!

This does not seem tome like a business that cares about its customers.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jul, 2016    By: OtakuBoy92
Title: Vodafail.
I have been a loyal customer of Vodafone with Home phone and broadband. Sim only and mobile contract. I used to be an employee of Demon Internet. And for those of you who says since Vodafone took control of Demon the standards have dipped...I can vouch for that.

Services: While I don't use their F-Secure free internet security for 6 months that's a nice thing. The router provided, well while the beamforming and othr feature sound cool, they worked initially and now my phone nor anyone else's can connect to the app. Probably hardware issue with router.

Support: I used to work for them so I can personally vouch for their awfulness at customer services. Outside of any broadband issues i'm 6 calls back and forth in between TSC and CSC to get a billing issue fixed?!?!?!?!? The indian call centre staff are much more helpful than Glasgow or Newbury.

Speed: I took out the 38M fibre. I consistently get 34M. Very impressed with this aspect of the service.

Value: £7.50 a month plus line rental rising to £15.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jun, 2016    By: freudianskip
I signed up because I was an existing mobile customer (had to move providers as Demon - owned by Vodafone - is being run into the ground).

The purchase process was a nightmare - it took three attempts to reach the sales line and then my order just stopped. When I rang to enquire I was told that there was an issue, answered one question was told it would progress. It didn't. So I chased again and was asked another simple question that had frozen the order. In both of cases VF could have sorted the problem with one simple email or call but didn't.

On transfer days (five weeks after the order rather than the ten working days promised) I plugged in the router and waited. ADSL provision moved over then when time came to switch over to VDSL the system froze. So I tried VF's appalling technical helpline and ended up talking to the team in Glasgow who are not bad once you've hacked through the automated call handling. Turned out that there is a known issue with routers not initialising properly. Once we got to that point, a factory reset of the router and it worked perfectly.
Line speeds as I'm close to the exchange are 79.99 Mbps downstream and 19.0 upstream, so pretty respectable. However a number of ongoing niggles have occurred:
1) faulty exchange equipment - I was suffering repeated short outages; I eventually spoke to someone competent who diagnosed a possible BT equipment fault. 48 hours outage - difficult when my wife runs a business from home - and an Openreach visit to the local BT box and it's been fine since. Not VF's fault but it should have shown on their systems and been rectified before

2) contention - although this is less of an issue, I suffer reduced download speeds during high load times (falling from around 80 Mbps to 30 - still respectable but annoying)
3) router - the one supplied by VF is crap and you can't use your own; it won't recognise USB hard drives, and the Twonky server is non-functional. Support can't get it working either. It also knackered an existing media server on my home network (the work around is to make sure that your VF router is plugged into nothing but a switch connected to everything else). It works now but seems ludicrous. Being able to use my own VDSL modem/router (as BT allow) would sort a lot of problems. As I said, the supplied one is crap. There may be future firmware updates but for now if you want anything more than plug and play for someone with no technical skills, I'd look elsewhere

4) customer services - the automated phone service is enough to suck your soul out through your ears and leave you in tears as you try to find the right combination of buttons to talk to an actual person. EVERYTHING about the system is designed to get you talking to someone about mobiles, not broadband. Even the dedicated broadband support line (0808 003 4515) can render it impossible

The offer from VF is something that works very well when it works, and COULD be very good with some minor tweaks: a decent line for support queries and the option to use one's own hardware would make the problems disappear. As it is, look elsewhere, and even if BT or Talk Talk's customer support is poor, it can't be as bad as this. If it weren't for an eighteen month contract term I would already have jacked it in and gone elsewhere.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: FLASH19
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*24.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.45
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2410)
  2. FTTP (2000)
  3. FTTC (1596)
  4. Building Digital UK (1549)
  5. Politics (1343)
  6. Openreach (1336)
  7. Business (1181)
  8. Statistics (1042)
  9. Mobile Broadband (968)
  10. FTTH (966)
  11. Fibre Optic (943)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (880)
  13. Wireless Internet (862)
  14. 4G (849)
  15. Virgin Media (808)
  16. Sky Broadband (574)
  17. TalkTalk (556)
  18. EE (556)
  19. Vodafone (469)
  20. Security (394)
Vodafone - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.227272727272727 / 5 based on 22 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules