Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Post Office Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
27 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Oct, 2020    By: Daniel51732023
Post office broadband are really amazing I don't have any reason to fault them ive been with them for 3 years and I was really sad to go ( I spoke to a lovely guy called Muhammad and he was lovely and I really didn't want to leave ) ive never had a problem with the Post Office broadband and ive only got good things to say about them I HIGHLY RECOMMEND them please dont listen to all the lies people say about them because thats all they are is LIE'S thank you so much Post office it has been my pleasure thank you so very much and thanks Muhammad your such a lovely person and you really touched my heart today ❤

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: 35mbps package
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Jul, 2020    By: MrMWright
Title: Martin
Since 'renewing' PO broadband package the service has been terrible. Drops out, slows down, ironically it's been great throughout lockdown and working from home, but as soon as I renewed it's gone very slow and glitchy. Internet speeds seems slow though so I contacted via online chat. They said my 11mb average service was 3-6mb, I hadn't realised that and they told me it was 'clear' in the letter and website. I told them I'm not an idiot so if I missed it it was because they hadn't stated it explicitly. PO told me to take speed readings and send them through, and if I was unhappy I could leave in April, I told them I look forward to that day. No apology, cut and paste answers, patronising customer service. It's easier to keep a customer than to make a new one... not in PO's eyes obviously! I filled in their survey, I won't hear hear from them.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: 11Mb/sec average peak-time speed
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Jun, 2020    By: geof
I have no complaint about the broadband speed provided. It is similar to that from previous broadband providers.

However, the reliability of the Post Office broadband service and their customer service are both terrible.

I have used the Post Office broadband service now for 3 months. Almost every day, the broadband connection drops, but restarts after 10-15 minutes. Recently, it has started dropping more frequently – 9 times today and counting. I had no such problems with my previous broadband providers. The Zycel hub provided by PO offers no help. Indeed, it shows the Internet connection as being up when it clearly isn’t.

I did manage (eventually) to contact Post Office Broadband customer service. Their script was clearly designed to try to find some way in which this might be my fault rather than theirs. Even when the fault occurs when the PO Hub (and only that hub is connected) to the NTE test socket – they are still hoping it is my fault.

And what did they do to clear the fault? Precisely NOTHING. They simply asked me to wait 3 days and hope that it clears itself.

I am currently looking to early-cancel the current contract. It will be a waste of £160, but at least I might end up with a usable Broadband connection.


Time With Provider: 12 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Broadband - 12 month contract
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th May, 2020    By: BlueBoi702
If I could rate the support of Post Office any lower I would. Have recieved no responses on multiple tickets raised regarding poor connectivity during peak times, and the phone number simply tells you "Please call back later" I highly doubt they even have phone support as I have phoned for multiple days in a row now.

Speeds are what I was promised and value is relatively good. However the line drops randomly during the day with no explanation why.

Time With Provider: 11 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Apr, 2020    By: hans
They were cheaper than my excellent supplier SKY so I moved. Big big mistake.
Speed with Sky 36 Mbps with PO Broadband 11 Mbps this is plugged into main socket no house cable involved also drops connection regularly. I cancelled my anytime phone after 20 days it was unusable due to crackling (new phone bought to try) They backdated my bill and charged me £14 for trying to use it. I have since updated my mobile to all calls included.
I have sent 5 or so 'tickets' the reply was nothing wrong with line.
DO NO USE THIS SHOWER YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. they really don't care care.

Time With Provider: 5 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Mar, 2020    By: iRKGS
Took up the Unlimited Fibre plan with Post Office Telecoms, the plan is 40/10 download/upload, my particular line speed was estimated at 35-40mbps with 21 minimum at the time this package was £20.90

Im glad to say that this ISP had been the first provider over phoneline that has actually synced the router at the actual package speed, yes my router is synced at 40mbps down and 9.99mbps up on a speedtest I get 37 down and 9 up, I've yet to experience a drop out on the local network or the line sync.

The router supplied was not any of the Zyzel router shown on their website, it is a much better more modern Technicolor DWA0120 which I must say its pretty sleek not as much an eyesore as some isp supplied routers, same can be said for performance, I get a stable WiFi connection throughout my 2 floor brick wall house, dual band wifi and gigabit ethernet is also nice although I would expect this of any router, the other great thing is it has the original factory Technicolor firmware no ISP preloaded feature limiting, the UI is very straight forward and user friendly.

I've not yet had to call support but I know they use UK based centres, I've had one encounter with the online live chat and the agents are real people and are very friendly.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Jan, 2020    By: Tony10
I realize I shouldn't expect much from broadband over copper, but it has in the past met our needs for a low price !

I have had Talk Talk and Sky Broadband over the same phone line over the years at this property, getting typically 5Mb/s download as we are not that close to the Telephone Exchange.

However, the PO Broadband only seems to be getting around 2Mb.

What is even worse is that the PO Broadband internet speed drops out completely for a few minutes at a time, typically four times per week. Of course if you are not actually streaming or surfing at the precise time of the outage it will probably not be noticed, so I am guessing there are many more.

I have never observed this sort of short term dropout before with Talk Talk or Sky.

My advice is steer clear of PO Broadband as it is not worth the low cost.

I can't wait until my contract ends and I can move to another supplier.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Unlimited Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jan, 2020    By: Groucho66
We have been with the Post Office for about two years now. Originally with Fuel, who closed,and we were handed over. When we were with Talk Talk, our speed never went over 2 mbps, but got a bit faster with Fuel.It gradually crept up to 3mbps with the PO, which was adequate for our needs, at a good price. However, we noticed we were watching less TV, and streaming was a bit random, which prompted me to opt for fibre, as the PO price was about the same as we were already paying. I upgraded via their website, which was painless and a lot easier than I expected! Easy to set up the router, and it was online within about two hours, at 3.5 mbps. When I got back from work, it was up to 36 mbps, much faster than I expected! If it stays like this I will be happy, and if we can get rid of the TV licence, I will be even happier! I know the crunch comes when you need help from a company, so I cannot comment on that. Time will tell.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Unlimited fibre broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Dec, 2019    By: SatiivaaBreathaa
Been on PO for 2 weeks now and had great service, I'm on a 40/10mbps 12mo fibre contract with Post Office Telecoms, router syncs at 39.99mbps down and 9.99mbps actual speed tests average out at 37 down and 7 up never noticed it drop below the 35mbps my speed was estimated at by PO (35-40).

The router supplied at the time is a Technicolor DWA0120 which is dual band concurrent with reasonable signal coverage around our 2 floor house, and has quite a few features in the interface, I have around 9 devices connected wired and wireless some of which include a smart thermostat, a wireless repeater, 1 IP cam and 3 echos all active 24/7, never impacts bandwidth and no devices ever drop connection.

Had to phone support about a damaged line at one point due to work on home, initially an automated robot had trouble understanding me but once I spoke too like a robot I was through to an agent fairly quickly (about 5 mins in this case at around 9.30am) he was swift to fault find and arrange btor visit and was eager to point out bill compensation and how to get it, BUT as I've experienced with many previous isp's calling at different times of day and the agent you get through to drastically impact the call connect time and experience.




Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Aug, 2019    By: Dekan
I have been with the post office for 11 days and it's been terrible..the WiFi has been around 1-2 Mbps and sometimes less than 1 Mbps or even totally not working despite being connected. The customer support after waiting longer than 30 minutes to get through explained they do not guarantee WiFi only broadband but I have 3 devices all showing poor speeds even being a foot away. I have plugged directly into router to work from laptop and still very very poor. The WiFi drops multiple times per day to these speeds and I have waited longer than 10 minutes every time I call them. You have zero cooling off period as it ends when your broadband goes active so you are stuck with this awful service. I tried the cheap option and this is a valuable lesson learned, I also do not leave reviews but I'm so disappointed that I feel I should share this poor customer experience. Stay clear..just to add I have been in the property 5 years and no issues with broadband until post office. I just lost the initial sky deal so switched to post office.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: Post office 5- 10 Mbps. ( If only)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*36.52)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £55 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (2812)
  2. BT (2791)
  3. FTTC (1790)
  4. Building Digital UK (1759)
  5. Politics (1687)
  6. Openreach (1641)
  7. Business (1454)
  8. FTTH (1341)
  9. Statistics (1250)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1249)
  11. 4G (1076)
  12. Fibre Optic (1071)
  13. Wireless Internet (1035)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1028)
  15. Virgin Media (1017)
  16. EE (708)
  17. Vodafone (680)
  18. Sky Broadband (674)
  19. TalkTalk (672)
  20. 5G (534)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules