Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Post Office Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
21 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Jan, 2020    By: Tony10
I realize I shouldn't expect much from broadband over copper, but it has in the past met our needs for a low price !

I have had Talk Talk and Sky Broadband over the same phone line over the years at this property, getting typically 5Mb/s download as we are not that close to the Telephone Exchange.

However, the PO Broadband only seems to be getting around 2Mb.

What is even worse is that the PO Broadband internet speed drops out completely for a few minutes at a time, typically four times per week. Of course if you are not actually streaming or surfing at the precise time of the outage it will probably not be noticed, so I am guessing there are many more.

I have never observed this sort of short term dropout before with Talk Talk or Sky.

My advice is steer clear of PO Broadband as it is not worth the low cost.

I can't wait until my contract ends and I can move to another supplier.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Unlimited Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jan, 2020    By: Groucho66
We have been with the Post Office for about two years now. Originally with Fuel, who closed,and we were handed over. When we were with Talk Talk, our speed never went over 2 mbps, but got a bit faster with Fuel.It gradually crept up to 3mbps with the PO, which was adequate for our needs, at a good price. However, we noticed we were watching less TV, and streaming was a bit random, which prompted me to opt for fibre, as the PO price was about the same as we were already paying. I upgraded via their website, which was painless and a lot easier than I expected! Easy to set up the router, and it was online within about two hours, at 3.5 mbps. When I got back from work, it was up to 36 mbps, much faster than I expected! If it stays like this I will be happy, and if we can get rid of the TV licence, I will be even happier! I know the crunch comes when you need help from a company, so I cannot comment on that. Time will tell.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Unlimited fibre broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Dec, 2019    By: SatiivaaBreathaa
Been on PO for 2 weeks now and had great service, I'm on a 40/10mbps 12mo fibre contract with Post Office Telecoms, router syncs at 39.99mbps down and 9.99mbps actual speed tests average out at 37 down and 7 up never noticed it drop below the 35mbps my speed was estimated at by PO (35-40).

The router supplied at the time is a Technicolor DWA0120 which is dual band concurrent with reasonable signal coverage around our 2 floor house, and has quite a few features in the interface, I have around 9 devices connected wired and wireless some of which include a smart thermostat, a wireless repeater, 1 IP cam and 3 echos all active 24/7, never impacts bandwidth and no devices ever drop connection.

Had to phone support about a damaged line at one point due to work on home, initially an automated robot had trouble understanding me but once I spoke too like a robot I was through to an agent fairly quickly (about 5 mins in this case at around 9.30am) he was swift to fault find and arrange btor visit and was eager to point out bill compensation and how to get it, BUT as I've experienced with many previous isp's calling at different times of day and the agent you get through to drastically impact the call connect time and experience.




Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Aug, 2019    By: Dekan
I have been with the post office for 11 days and it's been terrible..the WiFi has been around 1-2 Mbps and sometimes less than 1 Mbps or even totally not working despite being connected. The customer support after waiting longer than 30 minutes to get through explained they do not guarantee WiFi only broadband but I have 3 devices all showing poor speeds even being a foot away. I have plugged directly into router to work from laptop and still very very poor. The WiFi drops multiple times per day to these speeds and I have waited longer than 10 minutes every time I call them. You have zero cooling off period as it ends when your broadband goes active so you are stuck with this awful service. I tried the cheap option and this is a valuable lesson learned, I also do not leave reviews but I'm so disappointed that I feel I should share this poor customer experience. Stay clear..just to add I have been in the property 5 years and no issues with broadband until post office. I just lost the initial sky deal so switched to post office.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: Post office 5- 10 Mbps. ( If only)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Sep, 2018    By: Bitster
I switch suppliers if they increase in contract prices, my broadband and line rental started out at £12 a month in 2010, it's now twice that.

So I migrated from my last provider and got an affiliate deal with the Post Office 'Unlimited Broadband' for £17 a month.

As my line had been ceased, the first order was cancelled by OpenReach, but a quick phone call to PO broadband got a new order placed. The line went live on the expected date. Phone service was quick and painless. There are order status updates on the web account page which seemd to update in real time.

There were no connection charges.

The PO broadband comes with 'SafeGuard' which can be tweaked from the account page. Parental controls seem to be good.

The PO router is currently a Zyxel AMG1302-T11C, which is easy to configure and has more accesible features than the ones from my last three providers. It's actually very good, but your own router can be used. Zyxel has 10/100 ethernet ports, and runs cool. It has no problems with VOIP phone services or my Amazon Fire TV stick.

My package is 'up to' 11 Mb/s. The line started at 10, and after a week, self-improved to 11.06 Mb/s. *

So far, the service is good, customer support were prompt, polite and very helpful on the phone, and I have no complaints. The contract is 12 months.

* Update. Now at 12.6 MB/s. :-)


Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Broadband (ADSL)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Jul, 2018    By: SFJD

Since going live, we have received a technical capability and customer service level which has been completely unfit for purpose. After weeks of engaging with the Post Office Telecom processes, we have no choice but to conclude that it fundamentally lacks both the engineering capability as well as customer service ability to competently rectify the problems.

We have been receiving fluctuating speeds. Worse than the actual technical problems, it seems that the business processes being followed at the Post Office customer support lines are in complete disarray.
On calling tech support a couple of weeks into the contract, we started conducting frequent speed tests using their tool, and feeding those data points back to Post Office Telecoms.
On 21/05/2018 we were asked to send in at least 3 ping and tracert data points. Their employees confirmed our email was received.
Lovely.
Except...
Between then and 07/06/2018, the primary account holder called in every 2 or 3 days to chase progress on this. At every call, the call centre script with your employees was basically the same: Can we send in ping and tracert data again? (GAH!)
Then they “closed the support ticket as they were waiting on ping and tracert data”. Which we duly re-sent via email the same day, and received automated email responses acknowledging its receipt.
Thereafter has followed another week of regular support calls, with us sending speed tests, doing a fresh sets of ping and tracert data captures (with screenshot proof of wifi being off, pictures of the command line output, screen grabs of the speed test results).
The same lack of customer service has continued.
On 14/06/2018 17:46, we received an email stating that a technical fault had been fixed.
This morning (15/06/2018 09:10), we received a telephone call confirming that the Post Office had received the ping and tracert data we'd sent a few days ago. Apparently, the matter was going to be passed onto the engineering team and we would hear back within 3 working days.
Confused, we rang back to clarify why the email had suggested a fault had been found and fixed but there was an engineering ticket open… only to be told that no one from the Post Office had emailed us, no one had called at 09:10 this morning, and that the latest status according to this colleague’s support ticket was that we needed to send in ping and tracert data. &^!^""%^"%%"^"!!!!?!?!?!
We decided to terminate the service.
We told the employee (Ryan) that we are going to post off a letter requesting that the service is terminated - the employee told her a letter won’t do any good, he will transfer her to the Service Termination Team on the call. We agreed. Except Ryan accidently cut the line whilst trying to transfer the call. Called back a few mins later to apologise and try again. We agreed again to talk to the termination team. The call was cut off again.
WE GIVE UP TRYING TO GET THEM TO PROVIDE ANY LEVEL OF SERVICE AND ARE RESORTING TO AN OFCOM COMPLAINT.
The Post Office is clearly unable to provide the service we purchased, technically or in terms of customer service. Our broadband experience has been an utter waste of time, with countless hours wasted in troubleshooting and in weeks of calls to a support team who achieved precisely nothing in that time.
UPDATE JULY 2018: we've activated service with a competitor: on the exact same line are getting reliable peak traffic speeds of 8-15mbs. More than ever, wish we'd not wasted 4 months of headaches with the Post Office!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Sep, 2017    By: Emmie
BEWARE OF POST OFFICE BROADBAND - IT IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE PAID.
I have been without internet access for 1 month and their staff have not resolved this yet. I was promised a router which didn't get sent, then promised line tests and call backs which didn't happen (twice), then engineers visits which were not organised (twice). This company and their staff are a complete joke and couldn't care less about customer service. I tried to make a complaint but the "manager" said he would take my comments on board but he wouldn't respond to the complaint. I have never heard of this before that a company does not report back and apologise when a complaint has been made. ONLY AT THE POST OFFICE!
Really guys, go elsewhere for your broadband. They may be at the lower cost end of the list of suppliers but the dreadful broadband speed will drive you nuts and is not worth it. Trying to get their staff to do anything about this or the total loss of connection in my case has been impossible. I have had to resort to writing to the CEO but I'm not expecting much.
p.s. I would have given "0" for all if I had the chance as giving the PO "1" is too high a score!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Nov, 2016    By: dave67
Phoned up to cancel my mum’s account after she had been in hospital for 5 months following a brain cancer operation.
First spoke to an operator "Jack" who then called alleged Supervisor - "Shaun Brooks". He wouldn’t make any changes to the £37 a month account (that hasn’t been used for 5 months) until he spoke to a cancer doctor at the hospital.
Shaun said that this is due to Ofcom rules and the Data Protection Act that the next of kin cannot make changes but a busy doctor needs to take time out of treating desperately ill patients to speak to this customer service representative at the Post Office and discuss a phone bill.
Disgusting. I only wanted to reduce the services that Mum has but I have to go through the legal process of getting power of Attorney and I will cancel her phone and home insurance that are both with the post office.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Mar, 2015    By: stefano6791
We had PostOffice for two years.
At first it was OK. Then we start to experience random disconnections, slow traffic, horrible upload speeds (sync a few pictures on DropBox took forever)

We called the "support" and you get the usual person from a call center probably in Bombay, taking you trhough a checklist of things to do every time, and at the end, the do "something" that temporarly fixes our problem for half a day.

Never escalate, neve fix the problem for real.

We moved to a much better technical provider: AAISP.

PostOffice is cheap, but (don't) you get what you (don't) pay.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Oct, 2014    By: ukwoody
Moved house and as it is very rural with no existing line, we had very little choice. PO offered free connection for the phone and cheapish BB so decided on them.

After 6 weeks we have still barely got a working service. Took two weeks to get the phone line in, then another 8 days for the broadband - and that date was changed without us being informed.

Staff are arrogant and unhelpfu, do not call you back when they say they will and just go through the same old mantra everytime "we need you plug it into the master socket...". Due to having noise on the line they eventually (after 5 days and 7 calls) said they would send us a different upgraded router. What a farce. 2 and half weeks later they now tell us it has to come from overseas and will be another 7 - 10 days. Pure BS if you ask me.

They wont believe there is a line fault, despite able to actually hear the noise on the line and in excess of 35 drop outs over a 24hr period - their own stats!

Currently on speeds of below 1meg (we knew it would be low, but we wanted it at least be stable).

Avoid like the plague.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Gift Card
  • Post Office £20.90 (*37.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £21.95
    Avg. Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2624)
  2. FTTP (2418)
  3. FTTC (1713)
  4. Building Digital UK (1654)
  5. Politics (1520)
  6. Openreach (1492)
  7. Business (1306)
  8. FTTH (1204)
  9. Statistics (1143)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1107)
  11. Fibre Optic (1010)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (964)
  13. 4G (956)
  14. Wireless Internet (955)
  15. Virgin Media (915)
  16. EE (634)
  17. Sky Broadband (626)
  18. TalkTalk (610)
  19. Vodafone (580)
  20. 3G (433)
Post Office - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9285714285714286 / 5 based on 21 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules