Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Post Office Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
17 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Sep, 2018    By: Bitster
I switch suppliers if they increase in contract prices, my broadband and line rental started out at £12 a month in 2010, it's now twice that.

So I migrated from my last provider and got an affiliate deal with the Post Office 'Unlimited Broadband' for £17 a month.

As my line had been ceased, the first order was cancelled by OpenReach, but a quick phone call to PO broadband got a new order placed. The line went live on the expected date. Phone service was quick and painless. There are order status updates on the web account page which seemd to update in real time.

There were no connection charges.

The PO broadband comes with 'SafeGuard' which can be tweaked from the account page. Parental controls seem to be good.

The PO router is currently a Zyxel AMG1302-T11C, which is easy to configure and has more accesible features than the ones from my last three providers. It's actually very good, but your own router can be used. Zyxel has 10/100 ethernet ports, and runs cool. It has no problems with VOIP phone services or my Amazon Fire TV stick.

My package is 'up to' 11 Mb/s. The line started at 10, and after a week, self-improved to 11.06 Mb/s. *

So far, the service is good, customer support were prompt, polite and very helpful on the phone, and I have no complaints. The contract is 12 months.

* Update. Now at 12.6 MB/s. :-)


Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Broadband (ADSL)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Jul, 2018    By: SFJD

Since going live, we have received a technical capability and customer service level which has been completely unfit for purpose. After weeks of engaging with the Post Office Telecom processes, we have no choice but to conclude that it fundamentally lacks both the engineering capability as well as customer service ability to competently rectify the problems.

We have been receiving fluctuating speeds. Worse than the actual technical problems, it seems that the business processes being followed at the Post Office customer support lines are in complete disarray.
On calling tech support a couple of weeks into the contract, we started conducting frequent speed tests using their tool, and feeding those data points back to Post Office Telecoms.
On 21/05/2018 we were asked to send in at least 3 ping and tracert data points. Their employees confirmed our email was received.
Lovely.
Except...
Between then and 07/06/2018, the primary account holder called in every 2 or 3 days to chase progress on this. At every call, the call centre script with your employees was basically the same: Can we send in ping and tracert data again? (GAH!)
Then they “closed the support ticket as they were waiting on ping and tracert data”. Which we duly re-sent via email the same day, and received automated email responses acknowledging its receipt.
Thereafter has followed another week of regular support calls, with us sending speed tests, doing a fresh sets of ping and tracert data captures (with screenshot proof of wifi being off, pictures of the command line output, screen grabs of the speed test results).
The same lack of customer service has continued.
On 14/06/2018 17:46, we received an email stating that a technical fault had been fixed.
This morning (15/06/2018 09:10), we received a telephone call confirming that the Post Office had received the ping and tracert data we'd sent a few days ago. Apparently, the matter was going to be passed onto the engineering team and we would hear back within 3 working days.
Confused, we rang back to clarify why the email had suggested a fault had been found and fixed but there was an engineering ticket open… only to be told that no one from the Post Office had emailed us, no one had called at 09:10 this morning, and that the latest status according to this colleague’s support ticket was that we needed to send in ping and tracert data. &^!^""%^"%%"^"!!!!?!?!?!
We decided to terminate the service.
We told the employee (Ryan) that we are going to post off a letter requesting that the service is terminated - the employee told her a letter won’t do any good, he will transfer her to the Service Termination Team on the call. We agreed. Except Ryan accidently cut the line whilst trying to transfer the call. Called back a few mins later to apologise and try again. We agreed again to talk to the termination team. The call was cut off again.
WE GIVE UP TRYING TO GET THEM TO PROVIDE ANY LEVEL OF SERVICE AND ARE RESORTING TO AN OFCOM COMPLAINT.
The Post Office is clearly unable to provide the service we purchased, technically or in terms of customer service. Our broadband experience has been an utter waste of time, with countless hours wasted in troubleshooting and in weeks of calls to a support team who achieved precisely nothing in that time.
UPDATE JULY 2018: we've activated service with a competitor: on the exact same line are getting reliable peak traffic speeds of 8-15mbs. More than ever, wish we'd not wasted 4 months of headaches with the Post Office!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Sep, 2017    By: Emmie
BEWARE OF POST OFFICE BROADBAND - IT IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE PAID.
I have been without internet access for 1 month and their staff have not resolved this yet. I was promised a router which didn't get sent, then promised line tests and call backs which didn't happen (twice), then engineers visits which were not organised (twice). This company and their staff are a complete joke and couldn't care less about customer service. I tried to make a complaint but the "manager" said he would take my comments on board but he wouldn't respond to the complaint. I have never heard of this before that a company does not report back and apologise when a complaint has been made. ONLY AT THE POST OFFICE!
Really guys, go elsewhere for your broadband. They may be at the lower cost end of the list of suppliers but the dreadful broadband speed will drive you nuts and is not worth it. Trying to get their staff to do anything about this or the total loss of connection in my case has been impossible. I have had to resort to writing to the CEO but I'm not expecting much.
p.s. I would have given "0" for all if I had the chance as giving the PO "1" is too high a score!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Nov, 2016    By: dave67
Phoned up to cancel my mum’s account after she had been in hospital for 5 months following a brain cancer operation.
First spoke to an operator "Jack" who then called alleged Supervisor - "Shaun Brooks". He wouldn’t make any changes to the £37 a month account (that hasn’t been used for 5 months) until he spoke to a cancer doctor at the hospital.
Shaun said that this is due to Ofcom rules and the Data Protection Act that the next of kin cannot make changes but a busy doctor needs to take time out of treating desperately ill patients to speak to this customer service representative at the Post Office and discuss a phone bill.
Disgusting. I only wanted to reduce the services that Mum has but I have to go through the legal process of getting power of Attorney and I will cancel her phone and home insurance that are both with the post office.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Mar, 2015    By: stefano6791
We had PostOffice for two years.
At first it was OK. Then we start to experience random disconnections, slow traffic, horrible upload speeds (sync a few pictures on DropBox took forever)

We called the "support" and you get the usual person from a call center probably in Bombay, taking you trhough a checklist of things to do every time, and at the end, the do "something" that temporarly fixes our problem for half a day.

Never escalate, neve fix the problem for real.

We moved to a much better technical provider: AAISP.

PostOffice is cheap, but (don't) you get what you (don't) pay.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Oct, 2014    By: ukwoody
Moved house and as it is very rural with no existing line, we had very little choice. PO offered free connection for the phone and cheapish BB so decided on them.

After 6 weeks we have still barely got a working service. Took two weeks to get the phone line in, then another 8 days for the broadband - and that date was changed without us being informed.

Staff are arrogant and unhelpfu, do not call you back when they say they will and just go through the same old mantra everytime "we need you plug it into the master socket...". Due to having noise on the line they eventually (after 5 days and 7 calls) said they would send us a different upgraded router. What a farce. 2 and half weeks later they now tell us it has to come from overseas and will be another 7 - 10 days. Pure BS if you ask me.

They wont believe there is a line fault, despite able to actually hear the noise on the line and in excess of 35 drop outs over a 24hr period - their own stats!

Currently on speeds of below 1meg (we knew it would be low, but we wanted it at least be stable).

Avoid like the plague.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2013    By: chrisbaume
Just moved into a house and wanted a phone line installed so that I could then get a third party to supply broadband. Waited ten minutes on the phone to speak to someone who wouldn't tell me how long it would take to connect the line without running a credit check. After the check, she told me that it always takes two weeks to connect because of the legal cooling-off period. Not off to a good start, but I've come this far...

Two weeks later and the line isn't connected when it was supposed to. Ring up and find that my order has been cancelled by 'the system' and that no-one is able to tell me why. To find out why, my order is sent to 'special provisioning' who will take 5 working days. Six working days later, heard nothing back, ring up to find that nobody's looked at anything. Lady on the phone promises to take responsibility for my case and ring me back when it's been fixed. Maybe things are looking up...

Four days later, I ring up to find that nothing has happened. Sales guy offers to start the whole process again. Told him where to go.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Oct, 2012    By: nworcester
Title: Avoid!
They used to be okay. But not anymore. Very hit and miss. I often have long waits at peak times. Time to change to a better provider me thinks!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jul, 2012    By: mccord08

The support is awful,in my experience, arrogant staff with very little technical knowledge really more interested in getting the customer to admit liability rather than sorting out a problem.

If you try to cancel the service because of poor service they threaten you with excessive charges.

No value in this service- speed was between 0.92Mbps to 5.3Mbps download- promised 8Mbps

Service poor promised emails prompts when bills were posted on line. This only happend twice in the 12 months.

A truly awful service avoid.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Nov, 2011    By: shep4
Just changing over to Post Office (from A+A) and it looks like this will be the last day I have internet at home of r a few weeks.

They seem to quickly lean back on things like cancellation fees and minimum contracts even when all the problems have been of their creation. Clearly in it only for the money and shafting people as much as possible during the minimum contract period, expecting them to flee as soon as they are able.

In an odd way it reminds me of what dealing with the GPO was like in the 1970s. If you remember that and think it was an enjoyable experience, Post Office Broadband is for you.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: ONLINEDEAL
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • First Utility £24.99 (*31.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2243)
  2. FTTP (1677)
  3. FTTC (1483)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1467)
  5. Openreach (1196)
  6. Politics (1192)
  7. Business (1066)
  8. Statistics (943)
  9. Fibre Optic (863)
  10. Mobile Broadband (856)
  11. Ofcom Regulation (791)
  12. Wireless Internet (780)
  13. FTTH (770)
  14. 4G (746)
  15. Virgin Media (725)
  16. Sky Broadband (536)
  17. TalkTalk (511)
  18. EE (491)
  19. Vodafone (382)
  20. Security (364)
Post Office - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.7647058823529411 / 5 based on 17 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules