Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
214 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 02nd Feb, 2021    By: TommyZulu
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
I have now been with Talktalk for several years, joining them at the time when they were trying to rid themselves of their awful reputation. I am now into my third 18 month contract. The price is good. My FTTC connection has been pretty good and reliable - until last autumn when I started having problems.
It is not easy to get them to fix an intermittent problem and their overseas call centres are really quite hopeless.
But on the plus side they do have a good community support site and the talktalk staff who moderate this are really helpful.
The modem router they supply is quite good too - although not without its faults.
I am 500m from the cabinet and get 38mb/s reliably

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: Fibre35
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th Jul, 2020    By: mithras
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Title: Talk Talk
Overall good service so far, I came over from BT. Good consitent speeds and great value broadband.

And a note for the previous reviewer next time you want to move provider, don't tell them you them want to cancel straight away. Place a take over with your new provider first, if you request to cancel they will put a cease on the line, makes sense. Not really the exisiting providers fault.

Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 10th Jul, 2020    By: GavinHigginbottom
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
These people are unbelievably incompetent and arrogant. After we cancelled our contract with them, within the cooling-off period, they put a "cease" on the line they hadn't even connected to us for the next three weeks, preventing our new provider from taking it over. They refused to remove this and when I complained they told me to contact our previous provider, which we do not have as we just moved into this flat. I am disgusted with the appalling level of service provided by this company and wouldn't recommend them to anyone, even if they paid me. it looks like I am going to have to pay to have a new line installed and then make a claim against them for their unreasonable behaviour through CISAS. They are a nightmare.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 30th Jun, 2020    By: zinaki
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I dont know why it took me so long. After 25 years I am leaving due to their abysmal customer service and broadband which is much slower than I am paying for. Even though I have already left Talktalk still insists on one months notice and I am not happy with that since I was not getting the service as described and not compensated. Right now I am still paying them and using my new suppliers service. You are currently unable to speak to customer services as they have obviously reduced their support team. Why? You also cannot communicate via their chat app as it fails, and I would have quit much sooner if I could have. Finally I had to put in a formal complaint before anyone responded. Too little too late.

Just spent 70 minutes and was cut off after being told I was due compensation. As I said rubbish!

Time With Provider: 25 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 26th Jun, 2020    By: nbsimmons
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
After an initial bad start to broadband in our new home with Three, I was even more vigilant to check reviews.

I was reluctant but decided to try TalkTalk. I found a deal via uSwitch and they were happy to match the deal but give me extra off to total £19.99/month for 73mb broadband. This made me wary but they had their "30 speed promise" (effectively an extended cooling-off period) so I thought, why not?

It took near on 3 weeks to get activated (mainly due to OpenReach's lead time from Corona so don't be put off) but when the day come, the line was active and usable with no downtime and I was sent the router well in advance.

In terms of speed, my router syncs at 61 and I get an actual download of 55 - 58 so they're meeting the minimum I was told (equates to about 6.5 - 7.5MB/s).

As for the router, you get something fairly standard. Dual-band AC, 4 gig. ports etc etc. The UI isn't the most user friendly but allows for DNS server change(s) at a router level which is a big bonus - especially if you use something like PiHole. You do have the ability to use your own which I plan to do so.

For £19.99 i'm fairly happy.

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: Faster Fibre (+ Speed Boost)
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 10th Jun, 2020    By: SW17
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
63mbps. What's not to like ?
No outages in my 18 months with Talktalk. No significant speed drops at all.
Renegotiated further 18 months at only £22.45 for their fastest service. Router is very good indeed and lives up to the independent Reviews I found online. Customer service is fair-enough in a world where all online and phone customer service is at best, only just about ok.Ill probably sign up again at the end of this vonyract

Time With Provider: 75 Weeks
Package Name: Faster Fibre with speed boost
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 09th Jun, 2020    By: georgelunduk
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Title: Happy
Pretty happy with talktalk, you can do most things online, so have mostly avoided their call centres, and I've got a fast connection (about 68Mbps). As usual remembering to recontract when your current contract expires will save you money, and you can get "new customer" deals without having to argue much.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Faster fibre speed boost
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 22nd May, 2020    By: Chloe
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
WORSE PROVIDER EVER!!!!!! Do not switch !!!!! The worse customer service skills, not worth it , in the end I cancelled and would rather pay £7 a month more to have BT than deal with them!

Time With Provider: 10 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 04th Apr, 2020    By: Magoo
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Good
I have been with TalkTalk for a while and had some issues with the service.
Mostly the speed and the customer service
This changed in February when I saw an offer to upgrade to fibre. For an extra £4 a month but a promise that I could leave within 30 days if I was still unhappy with the service
What a difference I am now getting 50 MBS where previously I was lucky to get no more than 6-7 MBS
And it’s unlimited
The customer service is still not great but the actual service is now very good

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: TalkTalk fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 19th Mar, 2020    By: Kmagh4
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Very disappointing service. My broadband down for 4 days, and still not resolved. Have not been able to work for past 4 days. After 2 days they seem to blame openreach. So will have to wait for I dont know how many more days for it to be resolved. Very poor service.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Talk Talk
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £26.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Shell Energy UK ISP Logo
Shell Energy £26.99
109Mbps
Gift: None
Sky Broadband UK ISP Logo
100Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £19.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £21.00
150Mbps
Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All

Helpful ISP Guides and Tips

Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5529)
  2. BT (3518)
  3. Politics (2541)
  4. Openreach (2298)
  5. Business (2266)
  6. Building Digital UK (2246)
  7. FTTC (2044)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1975)
  9. Statistics (1789)
  10. 4G (1666)
  11. Virgin Media (1621)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1464)
  13. Fibre Optic (1396)
  14. Wireless Internet (1390)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules