Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
189 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jan, 2018    By: Old Grump
Having signed up for the Faster Fibre option in July, with a Download speed of 30mbs,, I have been getting approx 10mbs since October- no matter the time of day. After 2 telephone 'sessions' with the Tech Dept., the 2nd for approx an hour, but I'm none the wiser/ better off. She said, "All fine from this end, give it a few days to settle down and if there's no improvement, contact us again " As pleasant as it was (?), I think the phrase is 'that's another hour of my life I'll never get back" i.e. still running at 9.8mbs.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Dec, 2017    By: Seanybabes
Title: Talktalk
talktalk offer a very mediocre service yet still charge full market rates. They will not give you automatic package upgrades even though one is paying a rate eligible for a better package.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Aug, 2017    By: pinkbeam
Customer services are dire .they sent me a text saying that they would call between 2-4 pm and to stay home so that they could call me to run tests on my computer , the call never came so i am now stuck with 19 mb of my 38 mb and frequent drop outs . OK so I can leave penalty free but where to ?

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jun, 2017    By: bsaden
Appalling! I have had two years of misery with Talk Talk. They do not appear at all interested in solving my problems, only getting money.
I have suffered very unreliable / intermittent wireless and even phone connection.
If I am lucky, I can get 15mbps on 2 days out of 7. I get, on average, between 0.5 and 1.5 mbps the other 5 days.
I have spent countless hours on the telephone to the help desk advisors, who I can rarely understand due to hearing difficulties, and am nearly always told after the customary line check "Yes, I can see that you have a very unstable connection.."
Sometimes, it gets fixed - for two days at most.
BT engineers are up the pole opposite my house almost every fortnight.
I chat to them, and am told "There is a problem...but we didn't tell you that!" There is a junction box at the base of the pole. Whenever it rains, this is full of water, covering the cables.
Coincidentally, I get NO connectivity when it rains!
I can get to send an email if I am lucky, or post here, but to do any more like use 'Alexa' or stream a movie - forget it.
Talk Talk sent proof to Resolva that I "downloaded 28mb of data last week.." I am sure I did, it was probably in one burst, on one or two days, trying to play "catch up" however!
After the "thousandth" (I exagerate here, but here only), call to Talk Talk, I was persuaded to go onto Fibre which would "cure all the problems".
It has made no difference and costs me a lot more.
I was promised the widely advertised 27-00 reliable, fast fibre broadband, but was immediately put up to 33-00, then 33-00.
What is more, I now find myself locked unwittingly into another two years of hell with TT.
The moment I can, I shall move and escape this appalling service.
Yes, I am angry, and frustrated beyond belief - all this from someone who, believe it or not, never complains!
I hope more people will vote with their feet.
In desperation, I even contacted Martin Lewis (who I think will be doing something on all this soon I hope), who agreed it was appalling, but quite typical of Talk Talk - "They are not near the bottom of the customer service polls for nothing..!"

Uncaring, and definitely does NOT do "what it says on the tin"!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th May, 2017    By: SteppeFox
Title: mediocre
Technical support is poor. Call centre will go through their preset questions only. It is almost impossible to talk to somebody who really understand the problem.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Apr, 2017    By: cairparavel
I'm really disappointed with TalkTalk, for over a month they couldn't fix the constantly dropping connection and hours of service outage. Their technical support takes up to an hour to answer the phone, and then proves to be completely useless in regards of fixing the issue. They sent out an engineer as well, with no improvement whatsoever.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Mar, 2017    By: Neilhardycd
I wanted to save cash, owing to a change in circumstances and took a chance with talk talk.

The speed was slightly better than I got with Be (remember them), Zen and Orange. Service was good and when my finances improved I splashed out on fibre.

After 6 years I am still satisfied. When I have needed support the staff in the foreign call centres are pleasant, competent, take time to listen and have been able to resolve things. The speed slows from 38 to 20 Mb at peak times, but that's plenty fast enough for me. Very occasionaly pings get a bit long.

Maybe I have been fortunate, but I can only speak as I find.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Feb, 2017    By: pasho
I kept having random ADSL disconnects few times a day for a while. I usually had to restart the router to fix it. Initially I thought the issue was the cheap TalkTalk device, so I've upgraded to a much more sophisticated router. The new device made it clear that the problem was the unstable ADSL line.

I tried to get this diagnosed and sorted with the TalkTalk support. As usual, support is outsourced to a third country (guess which). I've spent an hour on the phone listening to all sorts of suggestions like switching it on/off, moving the router away from any other electrics, changing WiFi channels and so on, none of which were any related to the actual problem with the line. The operator did confirm in the beginning the she saw the disconnects. She also said that 2-3 disconnects a day is normal, but they'd try to fix it. In order to do that I was supposed to fiddle with WiFi settings and call back. It felt like I was talking to a human-robot with no free will - I hear what you say, but we have to follow our script.

Clearly, they are unwilling to sort out the issues with the landline, as it requires on-shore support. All they do is procrastinate escalation to the on-shore support for as long as possible. Unfortunately I don't find this acceptable as I have no time for these games. The problem is clear, but they can't deal with it. Too bad - I'll find someone else.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Nov, 2016    By: jerryfn
Yes really! I changed to talk Talk after being fed up with BT. The impossibility of getting answers etc. We suffer a long line issue and I am constantly calling someone to reinstate the broadband.

Yes after all the bad reports I did take the plunge and went with Talk Talk and they have been great. Of course, they have to use Openreach, so the default is their standard. But a couple of times I had the Talk Talk engineer out and they were really wonderful. Very helpful and informative. Serious tweaks to get the best out of my crappy connection.
My last problem was after a lightning strike. I had a dedicated manager assigned (in India). She checked back to see that all was well.
So almost full marks for service.
The price is excellent too. Particularly as I get free anytime calls to landlines and mobiles.
Unfortunately, Talk Talk cannot supply FTTP. YES I AM GETTING FTTP :)
So I have to choose between Zen and BT.

If they ever supply FTTP then I will probably say goodbye to BT.

My only complaint re Talk Talk sponsors the X factor!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Aug, 2016    By: Bristoljohn
Whilst I have been happy and loyal to TT for a good few years they have two big problems,

1) They seem to have lost all security and customers receive scam phone calls and e-mails frequenty.

2) The service is great until there is a problem, then their customer services are almost completely useless.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: FLASH19
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*24.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.45
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2405)
  2. FTTP (1993)
  3. FTTC (1595)
  4. Building Digital UK (1546)
  5. Politics (1340)
  6. Openreach (1333)
  7. Business (1179)
  8. Statistics (1041)
  9. Mobile Broadband (965)
  10. FTTH (962)
  11. Fibre Optic (941)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (877)
  13. Wireless Internet (861)
  14. 4G (847)
  15. Virgin Media (808)
  16. Sky Broadband (574)
  17. TalkTalk (556)
  18. EE (555)
  19. Vodafone (469)
  20. Security (394)
TalkTalk - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9126984126984128 / 5 based on 189 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules