Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
187 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Aug, 2017    By: pinkbeam
Customer services are dire .they sent me a text saying that they would call between 2-4 pm and to stay home so that they could call me to run tests on my computer , the call never came so i am now stuck with 19 mb of my 38 mb and frequent drop outs . OK so I can leave penalty free but where to ?

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jun, 2017    By: bsaden
Appalling! I have had two years of misery with Talk Talk. They do not appear at all interested in solving my problems, only getting money.
I have suffered very unreliable / intermittent wireless and even phone connection.
If I am lucky, I can get 15mbps on 2 days out of 7. I get, on average, between 0.5 and 1.5 mbps the other 5 days.
I have spent countless hours on the telephone to the help desk advisors, who I can rarely understand due to hearing difficulties, and am nearly always told after the customary line check "Yes, I can see that you have a very unstable connection.."
Sometimes, it gets fixed - for two days at most.
BT engineers are up the pole opposite my house almost every fortnight.
I chat to them, and am told "There is a problem...but we didn't tell you that!" There is a junction box at the base of the pole. Whenever it rains, this is full of water, covering the cables.
Coincidentally, I get NO connectivity when it rains!
I can get to send an email if I am lucky, or post here, but to do any more like use 'Alexa' or stream a movie - forget it.
Talk Talk sent proof to Resolva that I "downloaded 28mb of data last week.." I am sure I did, it was probably in one burst, on one or two days, trying to play "catch up" however!
After the "thousandth" (I exagerate here, but here only), call to Talk Talk, I was persuaded to go onto Fibre which would "cure all the problems".
It has made no difference and costs me a lot more.
I was promised the widely advertised 27-00 reliable, fast fibre broadband, but was immediately put up to 33-00, then 33-00.
What is more, I now find myself locked unwittingly into another two years of hell with TT.
The moment I can, I shall move and escape this appalling service.
Yes, I am angry, and frustrated beyond belief - all this from someone who, believe it or not, never complains!
I hope more people will vote with their feet.
In desperation, I even contacted Martin Lewis (who I think will be doing something on all this soon I hope), who agreed it was appalling, but quite typical of Talk Talk - "They are not near the bottom of the customer service polls for nothing..!"

Uncaring, and definitely does NOT do "what it says on the tin"!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th May, 2017    By: SteppeFox
Title: mediocre
Technical support is poor. Call centre will go through their preset questions only. It is almost impossible to talk to somebody who really understand the problem.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Apr, 2017    By: cairparavel
I'm really disappointed with TalkTalk, for over a month they couldn't fix the constantly dropping connection and hours of service outage. Their technical support takes up to an hour to answer the phone, and then proves to be completely useless in regards of fixing the issue. They sent out an engineer as well, with no improvement whatsoever.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Mar, 2017    By: Neilhardycd
I wanted to save cash, owing to a change in circumstances and took a chance with talk talk.

The speed was slightly better than I got with Be (remember them), Zen and Orange. Service was good and when my finances improved I splashed out on fibre.

After 6 years I am still satisfied. When I have needed support the staff in the foreign call centres are pleasant, competent, take time to listen and have been able to resolve things. The speed slows from 38 to 20 Mb at peak times, but that's plenty fast enough for me. Very occasionaly pings get a bit long.

Maybe I have been fortunate, but I can only speak as I find.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Feb, 2017    By: pasho
I kept having random ADSL disconnects few times a day for a while. I usually had to restart the router to fix it. Initially I thought the issue was the cheap TalkTalk device, so I've upgraded to a much more sophisticated router. The new device made it clear that the problem was the unstable ADSL line.

I tried to get this diagnosed and sorted with the TalkTalk support. As usual, support is outsourced to a third country (guess which). I've spent an hour on the phone listening to all sorts of suggestions like switching it on/off, moving the router away from any other electrics, changing WiFi channels and so on, none of which were any related to the actual problem with the line. The operator did confirm in the beginning the she saw the disconnects. She also said that 2-3 disconnects a day is normal, but they'd try to fix it. In order to do that I was supposed to fiddle with WiFi settings and call back. It felt like I was talking to a human-robot with no free will - I hear what you say, but we have to follow our script.

Clearly, they are unwilling to sort out the issues with the landline, as it requires on-shore support. All they do is procrastinate escalation to the on-shore support for as long as possible. Unfortunately I don't find this acceptable as I have no time for these games. The problem is clear, but they can't deal with it. Too bad - I'll find someone else.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Nov, 2016    By: jerryfn
Yes really! I changed to talk Talk after being fed up with BT. The impossibility of getting answers etc. We suffer a long line issue and I am constantly calling someone to reinstate the broadband.

Yes after all the bad reports I did take the plunge and went with Talk Talk and they have been great. Of course, they have to use Openreach, so the default is their standard. But a couple of times I had the Talk Talk engineer out and they were really wonderful. Very helpful and informative. Serious tweaks to get the best out of my crappy connection.
My last problem was after a lightning strike. I had a dedicated manager assigned (in India). She checked back to see that all was well.
So almost full marks for service.
The price is excellent too. Particularly as I get free anytime calls to landlines and mobiles.
Unfortunately, Talk Talk cannot supply FTTP. YES I AM GETTING FTTP :)
So I have to choose between Zen and BT.

If they ever supply FTTP then I will probably say goodbye to BT.

My only complaint re Talk Talk sponsors the X factor!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Aug, 2016    By: Bristoljohn
Whilst I have been happy and loyal to TT for a good few years they have two big problems,

1) They seem to have lost all security and customers receive scam phone calls and e-mails frequenty.

2) The service is great until there is a problem, then their customer services are almost completely useless.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Dec, 2015    By: quelgeek
I'd originally signed up with Nildram about 10 years ago and through a series of three or four takeovers ended up being a TalkTalk customer.

I won't list all the varied problems I've had with TalkTalk in the last couple of years, just the ones since November.

In November my package was unilaterally "upgraded" and I abruptly lost service. TalkTalk at first told me it was a regional outage and to give it 24 hours. They then told me it was my router. I replaced my router with a spare. They then decided it was my line and BT would have to visit. Five days later, while still waiting for BT to visit I discovered that they had withdrawn my fixed IP address for which I had paid. I called tech support again and was told home users don't get fixed IP addresses. Nothing I could say would convince them I'd ever had a fixed IP address.

I gave up trying and registered with a Dynamic DNS service.

Last week two things happened: first I noticed my fixed IP address had been restored. No explanation, no notification and absolutely no apology or offer of a refund for the downtime when they'd taken it away. No explanation of why they thought it was a line problem or a router problem and were unable to diagnose what they'd broken.

Then I got a paper bill, the first in over 10 years because I've always been on direct debit. In bold type it informed me that "This bill costs you £1.90 each month. Switch to on-line billing and save over £22 a year." So I have to actually take steps to stop them charging me for a bill I never wanted and never had in the past. Not happy.

Then, last weekend, while doing the on-line grocery shop, up pops a screen telling me that "Your WorkSafe settings prevent access to [Waitrose]. This website is categorised as "Drugs, Tobacco and Alcohol" and has been blocked by your account holder."

I was pretty angry at anyone presuming to control which web sites I can access but I reckoned it must have something to do with the "upgrade" so I logged into MyAccount. When I went to check/change the settings I was told the service was unavailable.

They can do nothing right. The people you get to talk to either don't understand what you tell them or pretend not to. They will repeat the same useless and irrelevant claims over and over. Sound quality on the tech support lines is an issue too. It is a uniquely frustrating experience for the £25 a month they charge me.

In the last hour I got my MAC code and I've pulled the plug on them. I don't expect to regret the decision.

UPDATE: I switched to Andrews & Arnold, for the same money (not cheap @ £25/mo, but I didn't want cheap—I wanted excellent). I've been with them almost exactly two years now. What an unmitigated delight they have been! I am very happy, except I wish I'd made the switch years earlier.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Dec, 2015    By: Gregora
Using Talk Talk as your internet service provider is the worst idea you will ever have, yes the prices are cheaper, because they are cutting costs every which way possible.

Most obviously, awful customer service- if you aren't speaking to a robot you're speaking to someone who can hardly speak the language and is reading a script that only ever ends in 'there's nothing we can do' or 'turn your router off, wait.. turn your router back on'.

Secondly, and most frustratingly, the connection you are paying for is bad, provoking use of customer service in the first place. The modem has low signal strength, offering patchy or non existent connection in some areas of the house and an awful bandwidth that makes simultaneous usage impossible.

Streaming is unreliable, sometimes OK (nothing special) but often dropping in and out. Online gaming is a total nightmare, impossible to retain a decent connection to a server (though when one is established and maintained, credit where credit is due, it does provide a perfectly normal ping/response time).

In conclusion, Talk Talk are the WORST internet service provider out there in my opinion and i have triple the internet problems my friends do because of it.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: SPRING19
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2348)
  2. FTTP (1881)
  3. FTTC (1555)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1525)
  5. Politics (1292)
  6. Openreach (1285)
  7. Business (1140)
  8. Statistics (1010)
  9. Mobile Broadband (934)
  10. Fibre Optic (914)
  11. FTTH (901)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (845)
  13. Wireless Internet (842)
  14. 4G (814)
  15. Virgin Media (774)
  16. Sky Broadband (563)
  17. TalkTalk (543)
  18. EE (530)
  19. Vodafone (436)
  20. Security (378)
TalkTalk - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9064171122994653 / 5 based on 187 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules