Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
210 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Jun, 2020    By: nbsimmons
After an initial bad start to broadband in our new home with Three, I was even more vigilant to check reviews.

I was reluctant but decided to try TalkTalk. I found a deal via uSwitch and they were happy to match the deal but give me extra off to total £19.99/month for 73mb broadband. This made me wary but they had their "30 speed promise" (effectively an extended cooling-off period) so I thought, why not?

It took near on 3 weeks to get activated (mainly due to OpenReach's lead time from Corona so don't be put off) but when the day come, the line was active and usable with no downtime and I was sent the router well in advance.

In terms of speed, my router syncs at 61 and I get an actual download of 55 - 58 so they're meeting the minimum I was told (equates to about 6.5 - 7.5MB/s).

As for the router, you get something fairly standard. Dual-band AC, 4 gig. ports etc etc. The UI isn't the most user friendly but allows for DNS server change(s) at a router level which is a big bonus - especially if you use something like PiHole. You do have the ability to use your own which I plan to do so.

For £19.99 i'm fairly happy.

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: Faster Fibre (+ Speed Boost)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jun, 2020    By: SW17
63mbps. What's not to like ?
No outages in my 18 months with Talktalk. No significant speed drops at all.
Renegotiated further 18 months at only £22.45 for their fastest service. Router is very good indeed and lives up to the independent Reviews I found online. Customer service is fair-enough in a world where all online and phone customer service is at best, only just about ok.Ill probably sign up again at the end of this vonyract

Time With Provider: 75 Weeks
Package Name: Faster Fibre with speed boost
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jun, 2020    By: georgelunduk
Title: Happy
Pretty happy with talktalk, you can do most things online, so have mostly avoided their call centres, and I've got a fast connection (about 68Mbps). As usual remembering to recontract when your current contract expires will save you money, and you can get "new customer" deals without having to argue much.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Faster fibre speed boost
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd May, 2020    By: Chloe
WORSE PROVIDER EVER!!!!!! Do not switch !!!!! The worse customer service skills, not worth it , in the end I cancelled and would rather pay £7 a month more to have BT than deal with them!

Time With Provider: 10 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Apr, 2020    By: Magoo
Title: Good
I have been with TalkTalk for a while and had some issues with the service.
Mostly the speed and the customer service
This changed in February when I saw an offer to upgrade to fibre. For an extra £4 a month but a promise that I could leave within 30 days if I was still unhappy with the service
What a difference I am now getting 50 MBS where previously I was lucky to get no more than 6-7 MBS
And it’s unlimited
The customer service is still not great but the actual service is now very good

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: TalkTalk fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Mar, 2020    By: Kmagh4
Very disappointing service. My broadband down for 4 days, and still not resolved. Have not been able to work for past 4 days. After 2 days they seem to blame openreach. So will have to wait for I dont know how many more days for it to be resolved. Very poor service.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Talk Talk
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Feb, 2020    By: Pineapple
My recent experiences of TalkTalk have been SO awful, and crazy-making, that even the process of trying to leave TalkTalk has been incredibly distressing. I have felt beyond frustrated, and violated, since as far as I am concerned they have actually stolen from me, having gone back on a price and contract term they agreed over the phone, and then denied all of this and not giving me full reimbursement for the resulting overpayment. To have to spend literally hours and hours of my time getting anything resolved with them, getting passed from team-to-team with them denying past conversations they've had with me, is just soul-destroying, especially when they have such a non-accountable attitude. They did not take my complaint seriously, a fault took days to resolve, at one point they told me I'd placed an order via a 'one click' in an email when I hadn't even read their email, they sent me the wrong statement dates when requested, they are difficult to understand and misunderstand what you say, make promises they do not keep, the list goes on. I can't imagine ANY circumstances under which it would be worth getting involved with this company in any shape or form.

Update 25/02/20: I have received a bill for a Feb-Mar service even though the service was disconnected. The advisor I spoke to had a very passive-aggressive attitude, and hung up on me.

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Dec, 2019    By: zcobb
In a modern city - Coventry - it is costing my mum £20 per month to get less than 1.5Mbps connectivity from TalkTalk, that's one point five, which is arguably not enough to run a modern application like Office 365 safely and securely on a modern OS like Windows 10. This sad state of affairs has persisted for years. And every few years the price of her package - which includes a landline number - has crept up. So I have engaged in multiple rounds of essentially fruitless calls with TalkTalk - where ill-informed operatives act like more than 1.5Mbps is possible. It clearly is not.

Now, I could get mum a 4G hotspot that delivers 30Mbps, but she stills feels she needs her landline number that she has had for 20 years. So the 4G cost would be on top of keeping a landline.

This dismal state of affairs is apparently the result of regulation that penalizes certain parts of every neighborhood based on distance from some switch box. I live 400 yards away from mum, and for £43 per month I regularly get over 150Mbps with Virgin Media (not as fast as I pay for, but 100X the TalkTalk mum pays £20 for).

I don't know how culpable TalkTalk is in all this, but they are charging far too much money for a service that is close to unusable.


Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Fast Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2019    By: Archer
We've been with TalkTalk for such a long time I'm not sure how many years it's been - maybe 5 years - probably much more

When we first upgraded to Fibre the speeds were awful - about 2mb/s - I traced the problem down to cheap power supplies provided with the Router only giving out 9 volts instead of 12 volts. As soon as I changed it to a better PSU the speed jumped.

Other people also have had this problem. Only reason I'm considering moving away from TalkTalk is the price is going up a lot. Things that were free are being charged for such as an included mobile SIM Card which was free is now £3 a month. Plus telephone features that were free are now being charged for. Currently paying £27.50p a month for internet and line rental + £3 a month for a SIM Card - Happy with the service - not so happy about the price.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jul, 2019    By: Sebastian
We ordered TalkTalk package. They told us that we need to wait almost 3 weeks to have the engineer at our house. ThalkTalk set the appointment at 1 pm to 6pm on a day, for 3 weeks later. They said that the procedure would take about an hour. Therefore, I did not go to work and staid home on that day. I received a message at 11:41 saying: Your engineer is on the way, so please don't go anywhere. Your service will be up and running soon. I stayed home, but nobody showed up. Afterwards, I called the phone number that I found on the website of TalkTalk. They said that I need to wait. The time was 5pm.

This time, I made conversations on the chat. They assured me that I need to stay home because it was not still 6 pm. I stayed home, but nobody showed up. I called them after 6 pm, and the person answered me that their system is not working. Then, I asked her to connect me to the manager, and she did. But, nobody answered. Again I called. They just said to me that their system is not working. Very rude customer support.

I didn't go to work for nothing.

I cancelled my contract with TalkTalk. I then ordered Virgin Media. Such nice Virgin Media. Very good service, polite and supportive staff working in Virgin Media.


Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.00 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*27.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3552)
  2. BT (3021)
  3. Politics (1935)
  4. Building Digital UK (1924)
  5. FTTC (1887)
  6. Openreach (1834)
  7. Business (1690)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1478)
  9. Statistics (1408)
  10. FTTH (1365)
  11. 4G (1276)
  12. Fibre Optic (1172)
  13. Virgin Media (1167)
  14. Wireless Internet (1159)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1147)
  16. Vodafone (845)
  17. EE (834)
  18. 5G (770)
  19. TalkTalk (769)
  20. Sky Broadband (747)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules