Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
246 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Feb, 2021    By: Tony Norton
I have been with Virgin since we moved to our present address in 2001. It was NTL in those days.
Until December 2020 I had been on the M100 package.

100Mbps download. Tick
24/7 phone calls. Tick
Limited TV, excluded the sport channels now sold to Sky and BT. Tick

I wanted to be able to watch the F1 GPs live. Virgin recommended the M200 package as, so they said, they couldn't just add the TV I wanted, and offered me an 18 month contract at £68 per month, which I accepted and was due to start on 22-12-2020.

Then it went wrong, and you can quote me, by name, on Facebook or elsewhere, please.

I have never, ever, had anything near 200Mbps. I read that the minimum guaranteed rate is 107Mbps, which is easily achievable on the 100Mbps download rate. My PC is connected via a 2 metre Ethernet Cat7 cable.

I strongly suspect that their attitude is "He only really wanted the extra TV channels so give him them, and the 20Mbps upload speed, but limit him to 100Mbps download. It will occasionally go over 107Mbps so we can claim it is within contract."

My average since 22-12-2020 is actually 96Mbps and the rate has frequently been as low as 50. My grandson is on the 350Mbps package which has yielded as high as 386Mbps. It is my firm belief (quote me) is that Virgin are ripping me off because I negotiated a lower than full rate.

I would call that thieving.

Time With Provider: 20 Years
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jan, 2021    By: Ronski
I'm on the VM350 package, broadband only. In the three years I've had to contact support twice, on both occasions it was an absolute nightmare. I use modem mode and this only complicated matters, support is obsessed with wi-fi, and they don't understand modem mode, they think all problems are wi-fi related. When asking to be transferred to someone higher up (IE level 2 support) I got transferred to all sorts of irrelevant departments. Then you have to phone and start all over again. If you have an ongoing problem, you have to start all over again each time you ring up, support seems incapable of picking up where we left off the last time, so round and round you go.

In the end I got the problem sorted via the forums, still took a while though and more than one engineer visit - felt like the first one just went through the motions, the second guy was really good and listened.

Our area is only 3 years old, and it's all fibre, no coax, speeds are very good, I never have any slow downs.

It's just the very poor support, I'm hate the thought of having an issue and then having to phone them. The other problem is the price rises, just had a 12% rise, and in a couple of months my £15 discount ends, so it will be time to do battle for a decent price, last time I had to give 30 days notice.

Value is only good if you can negotiate a decent price, otherwise it's expensive.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: VM350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jan, 2021    By: Davy_Jack_
They have an intricate web of scam artists known as customer services. You are directed to their website but there is no option to leave on the website. They will sign you up for new 12 month contracts against your explicit consent.

I am nominally on the 200 mbps package and I currently get between 8 & 13 MBPS on average, sometimes only 4.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: VM200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jan, 2021    By: antony_fry
Virgin have been very unreliable from mid Nov 2020 to mid Jan 2021 with frequent instances of intermittent internet service and last night today (21/01/2021) full service loss. They are competitively priced, fairly fast I’m on an 100Mbps package but that’s down link and not guaranteed.
It’s very hard to get in touch with Customer Service and we had a message that ‘ we’re aware of a problem in the W5 area but is very complex and may take longer than usual to fix.
VM do have a number of tools (WiFi Coverage checker and network status based on postcode but very poor communication about fix times.
They only pay £8/day for complete service loss and you need to go through their complaints procedure to get any compensation for intermittent problems.

Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name: M100
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Jan, 2021    By: DanC1978
I've been with VM for about 2 1/2 years now. Where do I start...
HUB3 is terrible. No signal in the house beyond the room it's in. Had boosters, which just crashed and locked out, meaning a restart of the full system every day. ended up putting my own WiFi network in, and running the HUB3 as a modem. technical were virtually no use what so ever. Since I had put my own network in service has been good through out the house. Although regular testing suggests that download speeds are never above 70mb and upload no better than 20mb, but it's plenty for what we need in the house (no nasty buffering).
Now the fun starts. Came out of contract middle of last year, and was lazy, and didn't question the big price increase (went from £37 up to £57 a month), and last week I was told it's going up to £60 a month, so decided to question it, and lo0ok for a better deal. The website says not to call as they are keeping lines clear for vulnerable people, so attempted to use online chat. Over 2 days (friday and monday) I was on the chat for over 13 hours waiting for somebody in relations to help. Not a single answer from them. Later found out that they don't answer account billing on the chat anyway. Waste of time if you ever need their customer service teams. Could say more, but ran out of characters that I can use for my review.

Time With Provider: 30 Months
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Dec, 2020    By: Oracle_Theory
If you want a service that drops to the speed and quality of dial-up every day without fail, at the cost of high quality broadband, Virgin Media is right for you.

If you want to be endlessly infuriated by a customer service team that give literally zero ***s about the quality of your connection, and will simply ask about the download speed of your connection instead of addressing the packet loss and poor latency, Virgin Media is perfect.

If you want to be lied to over and over with fix estimations in the order of just a few hours, only for the fix to take literally DAYS, then sign up to Virgin Media right away, because they have everything you want and more.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Oct, 2020    By: handsomeinked
When I initially signed up in-store I got what I thought was a good deal, unfortunately at the time my area was over-subscribed. After 6 months (of massively discounted broadband) I finally got the speeds I was paying for. That was 1.5 years ago and, for a while everything was fine. Alas, 6 months ago things started to go awry, the hub regularly rebooting itself despite being in modem mode. However as support are so insistent the issue was my router, the hub is back in router mode and I'm still having issues, with constantly dropped connections making working from home almost impossible. I'm currently waiting for my 2nd engineer visit in as many months. Whilst the service has been unreliable it's the only ultra-fast supplier in the area so I've had to stick with them. This is all about to change as FTTP via the Openreach network seems to be coming soon. The only take away from this is the customer service teams and the engineers have been lovely and super helpful.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Aug, 2020    By: olivercattley
ABSOLUTELY ABYSMAL

Virgin had our money for over 4 years for 200MB internet charged at £56 a month.


The low speeds, the drop outs, the hold music, the engineer visits - time and time again.

LIED to us on every possible occasion!!!. Told us theyd found the fault and "fixed it"... changed the router and "fixed it"...etc etc. Ive just found out that our line isnt capable of 200MB.. (max 60MB)
Forcing the connection I assume is whats been causing the drop out.

But the worst is yet to come - I rang to cancel last Thu and they said theyd ring me back. They didnt. SO I rang again the next day and told them the same. They told me my last day of service will be 11th of next month.

Today - A NEW CONTRACT FOR 18 MONTHS arrived in my email inbox. Completely unsolicited.

BEWARE!!!!! - It took me **** 2hr and 40 mins at the premium rate number **** to speak to someone to cancel it.

I will never trust them with another penny of my money and am going to seek to have some of mine reimbursed.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name: 200MB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jul, 2020    By: jonezbond
Had Virgin Media for 3 years now and had no issues with the actual service. Started off on the 50mb plan which they doubled to 108mb for free after about 2 years of service which is good but the price is high compared to Openreach alternatives. However given the street I live in the only fibre option is Virgin Media unless I want 2mb broadband. No offers are offered to keep you in contract at a discounted rate like BT do. During my first year I was offered TV and no extra cost which I too but never arrived and when I spoke to Customer Services was fobbed off and then eventually told I didn’t get it as I didn’t have a phone line with them. I didn’t want a phone just to get free TV as after the first year this would have increased my bill by another £20 a months which had already increased by £10.50 a month after the first 12 months. All in all speeds are good and router has wide range so you can get a good signal across your house. However expensive

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: M100 Fibre Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jun, 2020    By: Cosh123
Appalling Customer Service I have had so many problems they are exceptionally difficult to contact when you do get through either by phone, web service desk or text service you get passed from pillar to post then dropped. This is the worst Customer Service I have ever experienced and I’m 63 years old.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.00 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*27.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3553)
  2. BT (3021)
  3. Politics (1936)
  4. Building Digital UK (1924)
  5. FTTC (1887)
  6. Openreach (1834)
  7. Business (1690)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1478)
  9. Statistics (1408)
  10. FTTH (1365)
  11. 4G (1276)
  12. Fibre Optic (1172)
  13. Virgin Media (1167)
  14. Wireless Internet (1159)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1147)
  16. Vodafone (845)
  17. EE (834)
  18. 5G (770)
  19. TalkTalk (769)
  20. Sky Broadband (747)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules