Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
227 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Aug, 2018    By: kara_t
Really awful, unhelpful and disrespectful customer service.

Once Virgin has you forget ever getting help. You'll sit on hold, then get put through to someone reading a script who generally displays no interest in actually doing more than reading the script. Heaven forbid you should ask them a question out of order or that can't be answered on the script. On top of that they are condescending and dismissive on more occasions than not.

Never mind that the services won't work or require extra steps on your part that they don’t tell you. That’s on you to figure you, because clearly Virgin isn't going to help. Really regretting signing up with Virgin. I’m pretty much paying for them to treat me like crap. No service would be better than service with Virgin at this point."

Not a thing has gone well with setting up service with Virgin Media, Virgin Mobile, or Virgin Money. I have what services I have at all due to pure personal determination rather than actual service or help from Virgin employees. All around it’s been a completely horrible experience across the board.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: superfibre 50 + talk +mobile
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jul, 2018    By: Justhandguns
I have been with Virgin media since the early days. I am in general very happy with their no hassle services, speed is always great as I started off with their basic 2Mbps package and has since been upgraded several times to 100Mbps. My only complaint is the price that they charge, it is certainly not cheap for a broadband only package. The router/modem that they provide is decent at the moment, but I use my own wifi router so this is not an issue for me at all. All in all very happy with them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jul, 2018    By: johngfitzgerald
I was a VM customer in a different area many years ago, in their early days (Telewest etc) and they were GOOD. Having moved to an area where VM was not available I settled for the best available DSL service and waited for VM to come to the new area.

That finally happened lasy year, so I duly switched to their 200Mb service and I have to say, what a disaster it has been. When it works as advertised, which is rare, it is superb, no doubt.

However, more often than not it fails to come anywhere near the advertised speeds, drops out altogether at random intervals and is generally unreliable.

Of course, when you call Cust Services (a more inappropriate name I can't imaging for this lot) you get the usual script jockey who actually knows nothing at all - I'm not a broadband expert but I am a network security specialist, and have been for over 20 years, so I know a bit, you might say - and these folks are less than useless.

I'm stuck now till end of contract but I can assure you all that I will switch away, accepting slower speeds but better reliability and service, as soon as it is possible. Shame on you VM for falling so far short of where you began. The scores below would all be zero if that were possible.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Jun, 2018    By: Dorsetwo
No complaints, so far quite good. Cable speed 5G.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Apr, 2018    By: Forasizo
I have been with Virgin Media since 2006 (back when they were NTL) and have always been on the fastest package they have offered alongside the highest level of service on TV and Telephone.

Until around 2015, the service Virgin Media had provided to me had been exceptional and I never had any complaints. Often referring them to friends and family. The e-mail service was great (provided at that time by Google) and as it was the majority of our families first e-mail address (and one we had used for many services over the years), this was important. In addition to this, the speeds had always been way ahead of the competition and were incredibly fast and untiil 2010 were MILES ahead of the competition (and still are today, arguably).
The company had provided me with a cable modem (upgraded over time) and we used our own router which worked flawlessly and I always recieved my full speeds over both. I was dreading having to change my modem so I did not, opting instead to keep my current setup (I had heard horrors about the Super Hub)

The first hurdle came when Virgin Media were forced to migrate their e-mail platform. Instead of researching a good way of doing this - they ended up going with OpenXchange (notorious for being quite bad!) and as such this caused major issues for my whole family who had relied on this e-mail service for years. Now, we're lucky if we can log in to the webmail client at all, it often just not loading my e-mails. I am lucky and have used Thunderbird since the mid 2000s and it did not effect me personally. However, this was the start of the downfall.

However, eventually I was forced to migrate to the Super Hub and I did so (not so willingly) - at first the SuperHub 2ac was perfect - in Modem Mode and out of it. There was very little issues and the service level was good as always. I had few complaints (minus the stagnation in speed improvement) but other than that I was pleased. The default router was atrocious for signal, so I returned to my trusty flashed one and started to notice that in Modem Mode there seemed to be a deliberate speed reduction. I had turned Modem Mode off and my speed returned to full (while still using the same, custom router) so left it as it was.

I returned the device to the default mode eventually (Virgin refused to support it in Modem Mode!!!) which worked fine for me after some firmware updates and I left it as such.

When I was upgraded to a SuperHub 3 (when we recieved our V6 box due to Sky Sports changes) the connectivity took a nose dive (stupid latency & lowered speeds and constant disconnection). I was used to the simplicity of having it in one box but decided to return to modem mode to have the same faults. I had the router replaced several times and while the issues are now less prevalent they still occur more frequently than they ever did and the latency is much worse than it has been previously.

In the end, Virgin have shown a disregard for me recently as a customer as ever since Liberty Global took over the service level has downgraded over time. Fortunately, Vodafone are looking to expand FTTH to my area - so I may be able to replace my broadband service soon.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2018    By: Copper Thug
If you're lucky enough to be in a cable area then Virgin Media is the best choice.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2017    By: Robbsouth
I the consumer Actually lost count to the times I had called Virgin Media regarding a fault that was never fixed even though I was paying for this service.
Unfortunately when I called Virgin on countless occasions I was
met with rude and most of the time obnoxious customer service advisers based in India I was told.There command of the English language was appalling and constantly repetitive,fault would be fixed was the norm from them,phoned
getting slammed down when the conversation got to complicated getting told there tech team are looking into fault ,there Is a problem in my area and Virgin were working on it.This lasted for over 5 months
I eventually cancelled home broadband & did an indemnity claim
The agreement between me the consumer and virgin the provider was meaningless,pay for a service even though not working,bleed the consumer dry and 10s of thousands like me for there own gain,then breach there data protection by adding false and inaccurate information on there Credit file at a touch of a button which they have done when I the consumer had done nothing wrong.
In mediation they offer to clear debt but leave default on Credit file for a period of 5 years?
A consumer challenges Virgin & this is the outcome.
Dana Strong &Tom Mockridge do not speak or deal with
Consumers who pays there wages?
If anyone out there has had similar issues please Private message.Will be uploading videos very soon

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Dec, 2017    By: myowncommunity
A VM Rep called and was welcomed into my home. My son had previously check VM packages which seems to have put our post code into a system somewhere.
I had been with Plusnet for many years and no problems, although my son wanted faster download speeds.
Bearing in mind that I run web services and email through my fixed IP with Plusnet, I obviously put that into the brain of the salesman.
I was assured everything would be exactly the same.
I queried again that the fixed IP address would be provided, yes it will was the confident reply.
So I transferred the responsibility to my son the deal with the Internet account, having that as an adult it was about time he paid something.
Deal done, we were advised that an engineer would arrive that weekend. True to their word engineer arrived, connected up the boxes, showed it working, but as yet we haven't had the telephone line sorted.
Their new VM 3 is rubbish, in the end I bought a new Router to hang onto their fibre modem.
All seemed well, but my emails stopped working and so I created a brand new server to get them up and running.
The lies told are amazing, you ask for a service and they lie to sell a product, not just a lack of detail but lies.
The IP is dynamic even if sticky, I required and asked for a static IP. So effectively my IP can change without notice, which means setting up all my DNS provisions.
I have spent countless hours trying to get email working, sending is OK. But my servers are required to validate client emails. This now fails, in fact the ports required are routed to VM servers, so checking on-line they resolve to VM email address not my servers IP.
This is a serious issue as my once clean and healthy domain is marked as risky with some spam database websites, they log any emails from those where ISP's have a block of IPs designated as dynamic, or static where a reverse PTR isn't applied.

To say I am annoyed by the deceit and lies and promise that there wouldn't be any change in my access, well, let me make it clear it is an outrage that companies should be allowed to operate under such methods without any recourse to fully compensate individuals.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Aug, 2017    By: jinicoroneo
Title: horrible
I would give less than 1 star if I could. Virgin has had an internet blackout for almost 3 weeks now, every day I call them to check on the problem and every time they give me a new excuse. Not only have I been without internet, I have had to pay another company to have the internet I already pay for through virgin, they refuse to reimburse me and they refuse to let me out of an agreement they are obviously not honoring. STAY AWAY from this company and use a broadband company that uses the open reach infrastructure as those companies are actually held liable for honoring their agreements, something nobody holds virgin accountable to.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jun, 2017    By: Vax
Reliable, fast. Sometimes disconnected for few minutes, but nothing serious.
A bit pricey

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • Plusnet £21.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2721)
  2. FTTP (2611)
  3. FTTC (1757)
  4. Building Digital UK (1705)
  5. Politics (1611)
  6. Openreach (1569)
  7. Business (1390)
  8. FTTH (1315)
  9. Statistics (1208)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1178)
  11. Fibre Optic (1044)
  12. 4G (1015)
  13. Wireless Internet (1002)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (993)
  15. Virgin Media (980)
  16. EE (672)
  17. Sky Broadband (657)
  18. TalkTalk (644)
  19. Vodafone (642)
  20. 5G (474)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules