Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
222 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2018    By: Copper Thug
If you're lucky enough to be in a cable area then Virgin Media is the best choice.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2017    By: Robbsouth
I the consumer Actually lost count to the times I had called Virgin Media regarding a fault that was never fixed even though I was paying for this service.
Unfortunately when I called Virgin on countless occasions I was
met with rude and most of the time obnoxious customer service advisers based in India I was told.There command of the English language was appalling and constantly repetitive,fault would be fixed was the norm from them,phoned
getting slammed down when the conversation got to complicated getting told there tech team are looking into fault ,there Is a problem in my area and Virgin were working on it.This lasted for over 5 months
I eventually cancelled home broadband & did an indemnity claim
The agreement between me the consumer and virgin the provider was meaningless,pay for a service even though not working,bleed the consumer dry and 10s of thousands like me for there own gain,then breach there data protection by adding false and inaccurate information on there Credit file at a touch of a button which they have done when I the consumer had done nothing wrong.
In mediation they offer to clear debt but leave default on Credit file for a period of 5 years?
A consumer challenges Virgin & this is the outcome.
Dana Strong &Tom Mockridge do not speak or deal with
Consumers who pays there wages?
If anyone out there has had similar issues please Private message.Will be uploading videos very soon

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Dec, 2017    By: myowncommunity
A VM Rep called and was welcomed into my home. My son had previously check VM packages which seems to have put our post code into a system somewhere.
I had been with Plusnet for many years and no problems, although my son wanted faster download speeds.
Bearing in mind that I run web services and email through my fixed IP with Plusnet, I obviously put that into the brain of the salesman.
I was assured everything would be exactly the same.
I queried again that the fixed IP address would be provided, yes it will was the confident reply.
So I transferred the responsibility to my son the deal with the Internet account, having that as an adult it was about time he paid something.
Deal done, we were advised that an engineer would arrive that weekend. True to their word engineer arrived, connected up the boxes, showed it working, but as yet we haven't had the telephone line sorted.
Their new VM 3 is rubbish, in the end I bought a new Router to hang onto their fibre modem.
All seemed well, but my emails stopped working and so I created a brand new server to get them up and running.
The lies told are amazing, you ask for a service and they lie to sell a product, not just a lack of detail but lies.
The IP is dynamic even if sticky, I required and asked for a static IP. So effectively my IP can change without notice, which means setting up all my DNS provisions.
I have spent countless hours trying to get email working, sending is OK. But my servers are required to validate client emails. This now fails, in fact the ports required are routed to VM servers, so checking on-line they resolve to VM email address not my servers IP.
This is a serious issue as my once clean and healthy domain is marked as risky with some spam database websites, they log any emails from those where ISP's have a block of IPs designated as dynamic, or static where a reverse PTR isn't applied.

To say I am annoyed by the deceit and lies and promise that there wouldn't be any change in my access, well, let me make it clear it is an outrage that companies should be allowed to operate under such methods without any recourse to fully compensate individuals.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Aug, 2017    By: jinicoroneo
Title: horrible
I would give less than 1 star if I could. Virgin has had an internet blackout for almost 3 weeks now, every day I call them to check on the problem and every time they give me a new excuse. Not only have I been without internet, I have had to pay another company to have the internet I already pay for through virgin, they refuse to reimburse me and they refuse to let me out of an agreement they are obviously not honoring. STAY AWAY from this company and use a broadband company that uses the open reach infrastructure as those companies are actually held liable for honoring their agreements, something nobody holds virgin accountable to.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jun, 2017    By: Vax
Reliable, fast. Sometimes disconnected for few minutes, but nothing serious.
A bit pricey

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th May, 2017    By: Cadoc
As I write this, I am approaching 3 months since I've switched from Sky to Virgin. The good - I consistently get MUCH higher speeds now, literally 4 - 5 times higher.

The bad? The service is absolute garbage. I get 1 - 2 minute drops several times a day, on both of my computers, both wired and wireless.

I've had two techs come over. The first one literally did nothing and said everything was fine. The second, just today, was a lot better and replaced some cables, but still didn't fix the problem.

I must have contacted customer service a dozen times by now, and they're simply *horrible*. I have been told numerous times that I am not really have any issues, that there's nothing they can do, that everything is working fine. I was on the verge of cancelling, when the support person promised a "broadband specialist" would contact me in 2 weeks to troubleshoot the issue. He never did.

The bottom line is - 3 months and my internet is still awful. Stay away. Sky might be slow, but it's actually functional.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Apr, 2017    By: notloyal
I have previously been with Virgin Media, and only switched my internet to BT as, at the time, my work required me to have a BT line, and I was wasting a lot of money having 2 phone lines, the Virgin Media and the BT. I was generally happy enough, even though signal-to-noise faults happened quite regularly until they replaced my old, damaged coax cable.

After BT announced their April 2017 price rises I spoke to them to try to negotiate a deal so that my price wouldn't increase. They flat-out refused, as I was still in my minimum term (even though I could have, and then actually did, leave).

I went back to Virgin Media, and the whole transfer process was unnecessarily complicated and lengthened by Virgin's and BT's incompetence and arbitrary timescales, not to mention the fact that Virgin's activation system was down when I was installed, and they gave me a broken router first of all!

Once I was online, I started noticing issues with the connection. I have a VoIP FritzBox! for calling overseas relatives, and it worked fine on BT, but not at all on Virgin Media. The pings were also ridiculously high and variable (see https://i.imgur.com/yHn7WXcl.jpg), which was making SSH, gaming and WhatsApp/Skype calls difficult or impossible.

I reported the fault as soon as I noticed it, and to be fair to them, they sent out a first engineer very quickly. But that engineer claimed to have fixed it, when they hadn't really. I had to ask for another engineer, for which I had to wait a while. The same happened again (it was even the same engineer!). I was then told that an Area Manager had to come out and look at it, as it was beyond the normal technician's abilities.

Three times I was promised the attendance of an Area Manager. Three times the same normal engineer as before turned up, and once even in the morning when I'd arranged for the evening.

When I started making noises around 3 or 4 appointments in, they weren't taking it seriously - they were just giving me loss of service credits for the time the fault was there. After 5 appointments I was graciously allocated a telephone appointment with a certain high-up Steven, who was supposedly a master problem-fixer with an amazing track-record.

The problem was, this was nearly 2 months since installation, and I was still struggling to use the internet service for basic things like SSH and VoIP. And the earliest appointment available with Steve was nearly 2 weeks off.

I finally called in to submit a formal complaint, as it was getting ridiculous by this point. Instead of letting it go all the way, the agent I spoke with recognised that I was a problem customer and agreed to let me cancel free of charge.

Now I've just got to fight over the billing, to get a total refund of everything I've paid - I'm not paying for a service as awful as the one they provided.

Let's not forget their technician's hollow promise of a free TiVo V6 box, as the huge Samsung 500GB box they tried to install wouldn't fit. Nope, £120 + £5/month. Ha!

I'm also going to have to spend a very long time trying to understand how the hell that bodge, also known as my extension phone wiring, was done. The very definition of s**t.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Apr, 2017    By: NickC4555
The new house I moved to a month ago is a factory conversion with 100 or so properties (apartments and townhouses). The whole place is prewired for Virgin, including 2 dedicated risers. There is no BT FTTC in this area, so there is no realistic alternative to Virgin.

Having heard numerous bad reports, I was nervous about signing up, but so far they have been great. The installation engineer came on time and got it all commissioned. In the month since it has never dropped below 220Mbits/sec, 20Mbits/sec upload and around 10ms ping.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Apr, 2017    By: jamesie
Title: ok
works ok

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jan, 2017    By: RENISIUS
Title: Avoid.
Virgin provide a mixed bag with their fibre service. The 200Mbps package, unless you're lucky enough to be in a building that's struck a deal with Hyperoptic, is the fastest option available.

When it works, it is fast - if you're not being throttled during peak times - but plenty of times it simply isn't working. The occasional down-time is to be expected but I had problems with receiving the service being paid for at least once or twice every two months, but it isn't the frequency of the issues that was the worst, it was the duration they lasted that are what make them Virgin an unbearable ISP.

In the four-ish months I've had them in my current property (yeah I should've learned my lesson from the previous time, but the previous owners were with them and there was no phone line installed...) there have been three times where we've been left with speeds of 1mbps for more than a week each time. There are only several countries in Africa that have lower average internet speeds than that, even Somalia has an average of 1.7Mbps! And that is the crux of the problem with Virgin, their reliability is not good enough and too frequently not providing even a 10th of the internet speed you should be.

If you want to send them an email then I wish you luck in your endeavour of finding a contact address to send it to. They do have an option to speak to an agent online via chat, but I've yet to see one available such is the volume of the issues they must have to deal with on a daily basis, they are a genuine rarity. On the times upon reaching them through their phone support lines they more often than not are helpful, I mean, it's not their fault my internet is terrible. Bless them, they do try to sort it out with channel changes, hub restarts, rain dances, and I let them get on with it even though I've already done them all innumerable times in the vague hope that something might reignite, and every time to no avail. It normally results in credit off my next bill for the duration of the outage, but that's a small consolation and not the point, I'd rather not have any money off and instead have a usable service 99% of the time.

In a World where most leisure time is spent on, or involves to some extent, the internet the frequency and duration of the service is not acceptable. I'll never, ever use them again after giving them a second chance in a different location only to experience the same recurring issues time and time again.

We're too carried away with speed, no one *needs* 200Mbps. I will forever value reliability over speed as the most important criteria and would happily switch to a 30Mbps service that provided exactly what I was paying for 99.9% of the time over a 100-200Mbps theoretical service.

Be warned folks, don't let the promise of speed blind you from what really matters.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £21.00 (*25.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Shopping Voucher
  • TalkTalk £21.95 (*36.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Post Office £22.90 (*37.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2533)
  2. FTTP (2254)
  3. FTTC (1676)
  4. Building Digital UK (1616)
  5. Politics (1444)
  6. Openreach (1432)
  7. Business (1258)
  8. Statistics (1110)
  9. FTTH (1105)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1056)
  11. Fibre Optic (978)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (922)
  13. 4G (918)
  14. Wireless Internet (917)
  15. Virgin Media (870)
  16. EE (602)
  17. Sky Broadband (600)
  18. TalkTalk (586)
  19. Vodafone (532)
  20. 3G (417)
Virgin Media - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9707207207207207 / 5 based on 222 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules