Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Post Office Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
22 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Oct, 2014    By: ukwoody
Moved house and as it is very rural with no existing line, we had very little choice. PO offered free connection for the phone and cheapish BB so decided on them.

After 6 weeks we have still barely got a working service. Took two weeks to get the phone line in, then another 8 days for the broadband - and that date was changed without us being informed.

Staff are arrogant and unhelpfu, do not call you back when they say they will and just go through the same old mantra everytime "we need you plug it into the master socket...". Due to having noise on the line they eventually (after 5 days and 7 calls) said they would send us a different upgraded router. What a farce. 2 and half weeks later they now tell us it has to come from overseas and will be another 7 - 10 days. Pure BS if you ask me.

They wont believe there is a line fault, despite able to actually hear the noise on the line and in excess of 35 drop outs over a 24hr period - their own stats!

Currently on speeds of below 1meg (we knew it would be low, but we wanted it at least be stable).

Avoid like the plague.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2013    By: chrisbaume
Just moved into a house and wanted a phone line installed so that I could then get a third party to supply broadband. Waited ten minutes on the phone to speak to someone who wouldn't tell me how long it would take to connect the line without running a credit check. After the check, she told me that it always takes two weeks to connect because of the legal cooling-off period. Not off to a good start, but I've come this far...

Two weeks later and the line isn't connected when it was supposed to. Ring up and find that my order has been cancelled by 'the system' and that no-one is able to tell me why. To find out why, my order is sent to 'special provisioning' who will take 5 working days. Six working days later, heard nothing back, ring up to find that nobody's looked at anything. Lady on the phone promises to take responsibility for my case and ring me back when it's been fixed. Maybe things are looking up...

Four days later, I ring up to find that nothing has happened. Sales guy offers to start the whole process again. Told him where to go.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Oct, 2012    By: nworcester
Title: Avoid!
They used to be okay. But not anymore. Very hit and miss. I often have long waits at peak times. Time to change to a better provider me thinks!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jul, 2012    By: mccord08

The support is awful,in my experience, arrogant staff with very little technical knowledge really more interested in getting the customer to admit liability rather than sorting out a problem.

If you try to cancel the service because of poor service they threaten you with excessive charges.

No value in this service- speed was between 0.92Mbps to 5.3Mbps download- promised 8Mbps

Service poor promised emails prompts when bills were posted on line. This only happend twice in the 12 months.

A truly awful service avoid.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Nov, 2011    By: shep4
Just changing over to Post Office (from A+A) and it looks like this will be the last day I have internet at home of r a few weeks.

They seem to quickly lean back on things like cancellation fees and minimum contracts even when all the problems have been of their creation. Clearly in it only for the money and shafting people as much as possible during the minimum contract period, expecting them to flee as soon as they are able.

In an odd way it reminds me of what dealing with the GPO was like in the 1970s. If you remember that and think it was an enjoyable experience, Post Office Broadband is for you.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Sep, 2011    By: saintjtcg
Been with the Post Office for over 5 years with BB and homephone and mainly been good till beginning of this year.
Problems started with slower speeds then regular dropouts and occasionally no internet for hours/days.
Customer service ok if you get past the inexperienced phone answering staff and talk to proper admins.
Had allsorts of "suggestions" to improve service from them including a rewire from a BT engineer which ultimately solved nothing.
Was sent a new (but rubbish) Zyxel router as replacement for the old (good) Netgear which had "died".
Stuck with them even bought my own modem router so we could get the XBox 360 to work, but speeds have mainly been atrocious.
This time last year I was regularly achieving over 2mbs ( we live in a rural community about 3 miles from the exchange ) but at the moment I'm lucky if I get 0.5 mbs.
Fed up of excuses and porential fixes, so I am now uprooting and going to try Sky who offer LLU as well as a cheaper all round deal as well as Anytime+ on the telly. Will know this time next week (hopefully)if things have improved.
Hope so!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Oct, 2010    By: Tinkerbell
Before deciding to go with Post Office I did read reviews which suggested their customer service left a lot to be desired but I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt as I am limited in choice for providers in my area.

My internet was due to go live on Monday 27th Sept but I was unable to get any connection on my pc. My daughter's laptop picked it up no problem so I knew there was no problem with their equipment. I called their customer service and was very impressed when they said someone would call me back. Two hours later I was still waiting so called again and was told it can take up to 48 hours for a callback. Not too happy. Wednesday came and went without anyone contacting me so I called again. Told someone would call me back.

Saturday 7.00am I called again thinking I would get through to someone at that time but once again was told I would be put in a queue due to high call volumes. 11.00 called again, told someone would call me back, asked if it would be today and was told "hopefully". Decided to send email to tech support.

Monday 4th received reply to my email asking for further details, replied with details at 9.00am. Tuesday 5th received another email saying they could not help and I would need to speak to tech support. AAARRRGGGHHHH.

Tuesday 5th phoned again and to my huge surprise after 10 minutes on hold the phone was answered not by someone asking me to leave my number but by someone from tech support.

He then told me my problem was my computer (less than 6 months old with Windows 7 and was working perfectly well with previous ISP provider). Said there was nothing he could do and I would have to contact my computer manufacturer.

Sent an email to HP tech support explaining everything and in less than 24 hours received a very long and comprehensive response listing lots of things to try. After trying the first suggestion everything was working fine. It was simply a setting on the computer which needed adjusting and as far as I can see it should have been something Post Office should have told me to check.

Now that I am up and running I can say that connection seems to be good and at least my daughter's laptop works all over the house unlike with Sky when it would only work if she was within 6 ft of their router. I do find some pages are slower to load than they were before though when I checked my download speed it was roughy the same as before.

For someone who is not in an area that can get all the cheap internet offers due to BT's refusal to upgrade the lines Post Office does offer phone and broadband at a reasonable cost. I just hope that I never need to contact tech support again for any reason.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Apr, 2010    By: Qdos
I switched a non DSL landline to the Post Office's most expensive Homephone and Broadband package in January.

Broadband performance is great, but there are other problems.

1) They don't answer emails

2) It is uncertain if you will get ADSL2 when your BT exchange has it

3) They ship a router with their own locked firmware onboard (useless for other ISP's)

4) Facilities like Caller ID cost extra!

The biggest (ongoing) problem I've got is that from being connected on 16th February 2010, they've yet to take a premium from my bank account - and it's now April, and I have just discovered they've yet to take over voice functions of my line!

BT have just billed me for £100 in calls which the Post Office should have been responsible for - and which would have almost all have proven to be inclusive within their current £25.50 a month! They've had from January til' April to sort it out, but failed!

I'm about to call them for the umpteenth time, but have yet so speak to anyone there who knows their ar$e from their elbow!

A letter to the Chairmans Office could well be prepared and sent shortly, asking them to get their act in order and demanding they settle my BT bill!

Either that or I shut up and enjoy free DSL and use 18185 for my calls...

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Feb, 2010    By: NUT
For anybody considering moving to postoffice for broadband? Don't. The service and reliability is very good don't get me wrong but their customer support is absolutely abysmal. Delayed activation for a week.....2 routers sent to me which both weren't working (had to wait at least a good 2 weeks for the replacement for the 1st broken down router) customer services when I had to phne them about issues regulary not interested and hung up on during calls when I was needing information. If you want a fast/reliable connection then go to the P.O. But don't expect very much support when things go wrong and don't use their own supplied router's.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Sep, 2008    By: geordiekev
Title: Problems

I have been with the PO since may, signing up to their phoneand broadband package. I have until Tuesday 2nd September obtained a steady download of 2400-2800 kbps. Not briliant but reliable. On the afore mentioned tuesday my download speed on both computers that I use (Mac and PC) drop to 124-129 kbps. After putting up with this for several days and constantly checking my download speed via Speedtest and Think broadband, I phoned their Irish support line who went through the usual checks. Nothing at fault could be found on my line!!!!

This sunday I received a phone call from them stating that a BT engineer has examined my line and again cannot find anything wrong with it. They have promised to investigate further and get back to me.  I do not understand how a line speed can just drop to little better than dial up and yet have nothing wrong with it! I will obviously give them a chance to try and come up with a fix. I will keep you all posted. At least they are phoning me and keeping me in the loop so to speak. 



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Gift Card
  • Post Office £20.90 (*37.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2649)
  2. FTTP (2456)
  3. FTTC (1722)
  4. Building Digital UK (1662)
  5. Politics (1539)
  6. Openreach (1510)
  7. Business (1322)
  8. FTTH (1230)
  9. Statistics (1151)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1127)
  11. Fibre Optic (1019)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (972)
  13. 4G (972)
  14. Wireless Internet (970)
  15. Virgin Media (932)
  16. EE (647)
  17. Sky Broadband (638)
  18. TalkTalk (617)
  19. Vodafone (598)
  20. 3G (437)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules