Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Firefly - Surfanytime Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
181 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th May, 2015    By: itguru
Having been previously with Zen via EE. I have to say I have been extremely surprised how good such an independent ISP was, Surf Anytime. When I spoke to Andy, Martin & Danny, they all sympathized in how my experience with the previous ISP's, when my line was cut by an abrupt cease order. So my phone line was not moved, whether it was my own fault or not. The fact that Surf Anytime has me back online within 5 days! Having been a former IT Support Analyst, I kept checking the router, to see if it was syncing up. I put the order through from May 1st and was online by the 5th May! I'm on the unlimited package with phone line. Its amazing, how good its been since the switch over from Zen. Which I have to say provided a great connection. Zen's handling of the situation could have been much better! Well, as they say, one's loss is another one's gain! Thank you Andy, Martin & Danny. Surf Anytime are definitely one of the best out of the top 10 ISP's in the country. They really care about their customers and they are very good at what they do.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Dec, 2014    By: jjohnstone
I moved my father in law on to Surfanytime after real issues with another ISP. Being elderly and with memory issues he struggled with impersonal call centres that really didn't understand his issues or tried to upsell. Surfanytime have been amazing - we use the Broadband primarily to monitor his health and wellbeing via Skype and web cams. When we get a problem they just cannot do enough and they know he depends on his Broadband for his welfare and that makes the service even more customer focussed and special. It is so reassuring to have a ISP that is on the side of the customer. Surfanytime provide his broadband and telephone services and I cannot recommend highly enough.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Aug, 2013    By: McCovican
Title: Spot On
So, I was a BE refugee looking through this here site for a new provider. I'm usually one of those annoying, demanding customers when it comes to ISPs that techs really love to hate. I know, I've been on the other end of customer services for long enough!

Had a look through the top 10. SurfAnyTime weren't the top rated, but they also didn't have a whole host of problems listed in the reviews. After some research, the details on their site plus the reviews had near enough sold me. Sent them off an email, to which I received a solid answer to my technical query, and a little human touch to things, which was definitely appreciated. Sold me.

I don't look for a lot of bells and whistles with my ISP (though these guys certainly have them), just a solid unlimited ADSL2+ LLU with a static IP and some decent support behind it. Seems some ISPs focus a little too much on the extras and forget what they're meant to be providing in the first place. Nice to find an ISP that has the basics right.

The guys I spoke to through my emails were excellent, and (another rarity) responded in really good time in every case. BE admittedly set the bar fairly high before they were strong-armed by Murdoch's Mob, but these guys have done it one better in every metric.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Jul, 2013    By: derbyboy
Sad to have left TitanADSL, been with them since 2006 and they have been the best service provider that you can get.

Unfotunatly our business lost a large contract so needed to get cheap service and boy i regret it now.

Anyway please do consider TitanADSL.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jun, 2013    By: sanjpatel
Title: cheaper
Okay small rant mainly about BT.

BT average bill £38 per month yes i fell for their marketing ploy.

TitanADSL average bill £27.85

Same package Phone and broadband with unlimited broadband usage.

BT customer services are clueless everytime i rang it was please change filter for the love of god i have done that 50 times.

Titan only asked once reported fault and it worked after 2 days of reporting fault.

Happy Titan adsl user.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th May, 2013    By: Marvin80
Title: Poor ISP
After reading good reviews last year, I thought I'd give Titan a try. It all started well enough. I quickly got through on the phone and the service was ordered. I thought I'd finally found a good company.

After about one week, my connection died. I tried to call Titan but got a recorded message asking to call back later. I waited around forty minutes and tried again. Same response. I sent an email (from my phone) and was told the problem was caused by BT. After about an hour the connection resumed.

This happened about once every 6 days on average. Every time I called Titan I got a recorded message. You just can't get through to anyone on the phone. Email is the best bet. Every single time I had a problem they told me it was BTs fault!

I managed to get Titan to action some troubleshooting measures. Apparently, they got BT to make some adjustments to the line. After each step was taken, I had no email from Titan to say so what had been done. I had to email them to find out what was going on. They're not proactive at all.

The line speed started at about 5MBs when I first got up and running. Now it's down to just under 3MBs on average when it's working. I have to re-start my router every morning, otherwise I get about 0.5MBs (I've tried two different routers with the same results).

The problems are still continuing but I've given up with Titan. I'm going to find a new ISP soon. Hopefully this time I'll get a company that cares.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2013    By: james86
Title: Stay away
Titan ADSL started off really good great customer support that was friendly and keen to help, with good speeds for my area.

Now within the past six months they have changed from one of the best ISP's I have been with to the worst by far! For 3 months they have had no phone support and blamed it on copper theft on their line (Doubt it would take 3 months for that to be sorted!?)

Next they added extra costs to my bill for 18 months, costs for services that were optional and i asked not to have, once i found out about them they told me each month they would refund them and eventually refunded 2 of 18 months worth.

But mainly the worst problem has been my net, it has been running at 128 Kbps on a 8 Mbps line, Of course this was BT's fault (local exchange) not Titans yet strangely I live in a small village and spoke to other residents and found their net to be fine apart from one person who did have net problems, and that was because I had advised him to join Titan ADSL and he too had internet from them!

In short they can easily get someone to contact you about payments and you giving them money, but if you need contact about support prepare to be lied to and ignored.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Dec, 2012    By: Diamond
I have been a customer of Firefly for over five years and there is little doubt that they provided a good service initially.

I have seldom needed to contact them, although I did so today after the credit card details they were using for payment had expired. It was no big deal, as I'd received a new one about four months ago. It was clearly an administrative error.

The phone number they supplied wasn't recognised and a second one on their website didn't connect. They ignored an e-mail, but I got through on the second number in the end. I almost wish I hadn't. The man who answered had a Scottish accent, otherwise he could have been Basil Fawlty. He was extremely rude and tried to talk down to me. When I said I was moving my custom elsewhere, he volunteered to send me a MAC.


[Edit] To be fair to Firefly, I received a very good e-mail from them, and spoke to an exceptionally pleasant and helpful person on the telephone this morning. It seems the company can be a bit Jeckyll-and-Hydish, which is a pity.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Nov, 2012    By: levin
Title: Terrible
I made an account just to give a review for Titan. This is the worst company I've ever been with. I joined them a couple months ago when they were ranked higher and had better reviews but now I side the people who rated them poorly.

They were unable to provide me with the accurate dates for the line installation. For the first date they gave we had our landlord sit in (while we were at work) and nobody showed up. They apologised and told us that BT had changed their date but didn't bother telling us about it. They gave us a new date and our landlord no longer wanted to sit in for us so we had to take a day off work for it. I rang many times during the week to confirm with them and they said they were sure it was going to be the correct day. They also assured us this was their top priority (to make sure it was correct given their first blunder). So when we were just about to leave the day before the installation date, the engineer showed up. We couldn't swap the date because it was so last minute so we had to take two days off because they gave us the wrong date.

I rang and they apologised telling me their supervisor will be dealing with my complaint personally. No word from them for weeks, I ring to check up on the situation and was told the man in charge is on holiday and to ring back later. They promised me a month's free credit but after months of pursuing this I'm still being charged and they're still "trying to sort it out".

Do not go to this place, you cannot trust a word they say. I would say for the speed you are getting you are getting your money's worth but I'm giving a low score for the horrible service I am getting.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Nov, 2012    By: Grumpy_Haggis
Support service is highly frustrating - get phone message saying all advisors are busy and to call back later. No response to email either.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: ONLINEDEAL
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • First Utility £24.99 (*31.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2243)
  2. FTTP (1677)
  3. FTTC (1483)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1467)
  5. Openreach (1196)
  6. Politics (1192)
  7. Business (1066)
  8. Statistics (943)
  9. Fibre Optic (863)
  10. Mobile Broadband (856)
  11. Ofcom Regulation (791)
  12. Wireless Internet (780)
  13. FTTH (770)
  14. 4G (746)
  15. Virgin Media (725)
  16. Sky Broadband (536)
  17. TalkTalk (511)
  18. EE (491)
  19. Vodafone (382)
  20. Security (364)
Firefly - Surfanytime - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 3.425414364640884 / 5 based on 181 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules