Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2019    By: Rich
Never try their broadband. They use a cheap router and you have to change the channels regularly to make it work. We always have drops in our internet upto an hour long, and when i ring their technical dept they say that it is expected to have at least 3 or 4 drops every 3 days, ive never had that with Sky or anyone else.

We spend over £130 a week with Waitrose shopping and buy clothes and electricals from John Lewis, and when we said we would cancel all those weekly orders for the sake of a £100 cancellation fee, the person said, i have the ability to remove the cancellation charge, but i wont do it, even though he knew they would loose £6-8000 a year in shopping. What a joke.

We are taking it further so i would let you know what his managers say about loosing £8000 a year for the brand to keep £100 in his department.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Apr, 2019    By: Nealjane2002
Poor service, been with them a year almost and it’s a monthly occurance - poor internet, tel line issues...yet again today tel line is down, internet slow, have 6 weeks to go till end of my contract...told line fault will be fixed by end of the week...I’m can’t stand the poor service anymore and I’m leaving early..paying the early exit fees, but I just don’t care -it’s been such a poor service!!

Time With Provider: 11 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Apr, 2017    By: Derek
So far very happy with John Lewis Fibre Extra.

Decided to move away from Sky Fibre Pro and Sky Talk. Sky's service has been good but annual rigmarole/hassle of chat with retentions about subscription cost wasted too much of my time and this year was still ending up over-priced.

So timeline was: signed up online for JL's Fibre Extra on 3 March 2017 on JL website; also spoke to JL on 3 March 2017 as concerned about port of my longstanding landline number from Sky; letters from Sky on 20 March 2017; and switch of landline and broadband from Sky to JL on 3 April 2017.

My biggest concern was about cancellation of landline as JL's Ts&Cs online said I might receive a new number and not be able to retain landline number - same landline for 20 years (1st with BT, then Be, then Sky). Happily my old number ported from Sky successfully on day of switch 3 April 2017 (just went dead for an hour and then reconnected).

Broadband speed has been stable for last 24 hours - upload 19.9 Mbps, download 72.8 Mbps (24 hours earlier with Sky Fibre Pro, it had been upload 19.9, download 66.9 Mbps).

Router is ZyXel (VMG 8924-B10A) which has dual band, ac/n, VDSL2, VOIP, USB, 3G back-up etc. Generally v happy with it so far as good range of menus and controls if needed. (As an aside, I was away when courier delivered router - courier left note through door that had placed it in my empty dustbin outside - seemed high risk strategy as I came back to find it only 24 hours before the bins were emptied - but it was there and all was OK!)

Set-up of router by me on 3 April 2017 needed a call to support after a couple of resets of the router by me were not enough to get internet working. My call at 9pm that day to support connected via short telephone menu within 60 seconds. Support rep was a charming Welsh lady called Llinos who was very friendly and succeeded in clearing line within 15 minutes and line has been stable ever since at about 73 Mbps down. All good and rather heartening.

Pricing for Fibre Extra is a lot better (about £12pm) than Sky Fibre Pro and the basic Sky Talk, with real added bonus for Fibre Extra of free bundled Evening and Weekend call plan. Combo of the significantly cheaper price for the (up to) 76Mbps service, plus the Evening and Weekend call plan, was decisive for me in switching after lack of success with Sky retentions.

All in all, the move from Sky Fibre Pro to JL Fibre Extra was simple - online switch with no engineer visit required and pretty much plug and play with the router (plus one 15 min call to nice support team on day of switch). Added bonus of transparent pricing and flexibility for a single static IP address for just £5. Just hope it remains stable and fast in longer term but encouraging start - fingers crossed.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jan, 2017    By: geordiekev
Where do I start? Ordered the Fibre Extra 19TH December and paid my deposit. Getting concerned that I had not had a start date or router, so I phoned up on 6th January. JL hadn’t actually ordered the router nor actioned the order itself. Negotiated a months free broadband because of their negligence, given a written start date of the 17th January. On the 16th January again concerned that I had received no router, phoned again. Start date put back to 20th January, no router had been ordered. Customer service manually ordered the router. The 20th January arrives, router was delivered on the previous Wednesday 2 days previously. No phone. Phone finally went live at 2pm. Broadband not activated. After phoning again and explaining that the lights on the router showed that it was not picking up a fibre signal nor connecting to the internet I was told that it could take till midnight and that they would contact me when it was live. They did not contact me at all. Midnight came and went no broadband, lights on router same as before.
Phoned on 21st explaining I had no broadband. Cannot even access the router homepage. One hour spent with technical support, prompted by me to acknowledge that the router was probably faulty, and that I was not on the package that I contracted for. New router ordered. Transferred to another department, to determine why I was put on a different package and why was I not upgraded to the package I contracted for. Unable to discover why and unable to put me on the package I contracted for. Apparently internal system problem. I was mistakenly put on the basic broadband package and not the fibre package I contracted for. Says by text that they will try again on 23rd January. Now told that they have to order the fibre package from Openreach (could they not have done it when I ordered) and could take 48 hours to process then activate. Apparently my phone number says I cannot get fibre but my address says I can. News to me since I have had fibre with Sky and Talk Talk in the previous 4 years.
New router arrived 24th January, couldn’t access internet, fibre will still not be activated for another 48 hours. After spending almost 1 hour on phone to tech, finally accessed router settings through ipad in order to input the CORRECT password and username, that were incorrectly applied from JL. Finally on the internet, basic broadband, although I now have to wait to be activated for fibre, for which I have paid for and for which JL failed to order. Broadband in theory went live on 20th January finally accessed basic broadband on 24th January. Just been told that my fibre will not be activated until 1st February. Phoned last night 24th January to complain again they promised to phone back but didn’t. Absolute shambles of an organisation. I have never had so much trouble from a supplier as I have had with JL. Will stay with them for a year then leave.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th May, 2014    By: SimonF1
This company is truly shameful and i would stay far far away from their broadband service.

I joined them on the 25th April and my activation date was 13th May, But on the 13th no bb so i contacted them and they said sorry it should be active by the 14th but that didn't happen so after a long time on the phone and a lot of messing about with routers and passwords they finally said they would send out an engineer the engineer never showed so JL (john Lewis) said they re-booked the engineer but again no show this happened 4 times and was escalated 3 times during that time, any company that escalates your problem more than once is not to be taken seriously. I phoned this JL up and canceled my account today due to the fact they are useless and have done nothing but waste my time i was in my 30day cancellation time by 1 day, but i cant seem to get any of my money back that they took up front. They are also sarcastic as soon as you request a cancellation.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jul, 2012    By: Rob
Title: Great ISP
I migrated from Terrible Tiscali after sub 56k speeds on a 1mb connection and really bad customer service. I was released from my contract after 3 months due to the amount of complaints I made. Migration to Waitrose was easy, happened day before schedule and connection is reliable and fast. I am able to play online games again with pings of below 15 and download speeds that match my 1mb connection. Also all profits go to charity and its worth the extra few quid a month to get a service im paying for. You also get free 24/7 uk based support so not sure what the post before is talking about, give them a try you wont regret it.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jul, 2012    By: scf
Greenbee uses Plusnet to provide its services. Greenbee is significantly more expensive if, like me, you download more than a minimal quantity of material every month.

My experience of its support has been very disappointing. I had expected that Greenbee's higher costs were to cover better service when you need it. As I write, I've had no broadband for a week as a result of a fault, and no indication of when it will be repaired. Calls to the Plusnet support line just lead to the response that the matter has been "escalated" to the fault team, they "endeavour" to deal with it within five working days, but no, I can't actually speak to anyone who actually knows what's going on and when it will be fixed.

They are also incredibly slow at sending out MAC codes.

If nothing actually goes wrong, Greenbee is an expensive and not particularly fast service. If there's a problem, you'll be messed around.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jul, 2012    By: Rob
I was a V21/biscit customer and a friend recommmended me to try Waitrose.com. It is the best move I have made; the telephone support is high quality everytime. Despite the problems with absence of MAC numbers I was able to get on line without any hold ups. In 8 years of being on line this is the best service I have experienced

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jul, 2012    By: Rob
I started with Waitrose a long time ago as a dial-up user. As broadband became popular I migrated to their ADSL service. All was well for a while but over the last 6 months the service has slowed down, required regular re-signins and suffered major performance glitches. Calling the Tech help desk never helped - a long wait followed by a standard diagnostic discussion which assumes you have the problem - then blames BT. Service over the last 3 months and the last few days in particular has been attrocious. And this is at at a premium price point! Have now moved to EFH (found on this site) - better faster cheaper.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jul, 2012    By: Rob
I have been with Waitrose for 18 months. I have had internet since 1998 so I\'ve seen a few ISP\'s ! Waitrose connection (100%) and speed means I never use support. If the product\'s that good, who needs support ?

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: SPRING19
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2386)
  2. FTTP (1963)
  3. FTTC (1582)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1538)
  5. Politics (1321)
  6. Openreach (1318)
  7. Business (1168)
  8. Statistics (1028)
  9. Mobile Broadband (952)
  10. FTTH (948)
  11. Fibre Optic (933)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (865)
  13. Wireless Internet (854)
  14. 4G (836)
  15. Virgin Media (799)
  16. Sky Broadband (572)
  17. TalkTalk (551)
  18. EE (547)
  19. Vodafone (460)
  20. Security (391)
John Lewis Broadband - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.3846153846153846 / 5 based on 13 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules