Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Jurassic Fibre Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
10 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Nov, 2023    By: IceFreak2000
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
I've seen a couple of reviews from users (for an example, Ash on October 16th) that have complained about the Nokia router that's supplied by Jurassic Fibre being locked down. Unfortunately I can't reply directly to reviews.

I'm a Jurassic Fibre customer (SmartHome 450) and was activated just over a month ago. In my use case, I run a number of services from a server at home that I access from the outside world and therefore need port forwarding.

If you contact Jurassic Fibre support, you can get them to switch their router into Bridge mode - you *must* have your own router (I use an Asus RT-AX88U Pro) which you connect to the supplied Nokia unit - everything (WiFi, port forwarding etc) is then provided by your own hardware. I have 20+ services running from Docker containers that are now all exposed to the outside world and the system works flawlessly. Once through to support, the process took less than an hour to complete and I get a totally rock-solid 450Mbps at all times.

The reasoning is simple; 99% of their customers do not need (and do not understand) port forwarding and will cause more problems than it's worth - however, if you do know what you're doing enabling the functionality is easy.

Time With Provider: 6 Weeks
Package Name: SmartHome 450
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 16th Oct, 2023    By: Ash
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Finally got my router installed and I already hate it. Was quoted my installation to take place on the 18th of Augsust 2023, its taken them until October 16th. I have been on hold with them for 5-6 hours in the last two weeks to finally get an installation date.

Extremely slow customer service, combined with very poor intercommunication, is what has dragged the whole installation out so long.

Finally, though, its installed... And I find out you can't change the router setting by yourself, because Jurassic Fibre seems to think the average person is an idiot. Call customer service again, wait on hold for 2.5 hours, for the call handler just to say "sorry thats how we operate, I dont know why exactly."

So now I'm waiting again for ANOTHER call from another clueless tech to find out WHY ON EARTH I can't change a password or use a port-forwarding feature without having some customer service agent holding my hand.

Incredibly poor. I swear if I can't get access to the router settings im going to switch providers back to Sky.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: SmartHome 950
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Sep, 2023    By: KettlePilot
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I feel that I have made a big mistake by switching ISP from BT to Jurassic Fibre, I was attracted by their competitive packages so I took a leap of faith and signed up. The engineer who attended (I was absent) did not check my elderly mothers 24 hour call response monitoring system so unbeknown to me it appeared to work until I tested it and it did not, I called their call centre and asked why this engineer did not carry out a care of duty to check that all and any devices reliant up on their service all worked, JF response was 'it is not their job to' now considering this health/emergency call monitoring system is used in a potentially life threatening situation I would consider their neglect to establish this system is functioning correctly of the utmost importance but it seems that JF have demonstrated a complete disregard and indifference to my concerns!

Secondly the promised and expected internet connection speeds failed miserably I was not even reaching a 1/3 of what I had singed up for. So to those thinking of swapping ISP consider carefully before choosing Jurassic Fibre!

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: SmartHome 150
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 26th Aug, 2023    By: TPF
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Avoid
Initial installation swift and efficient.
Internet speeds inconsistent, often slow, completely drops out at times. Have had 2 aftercare visits and 3 boosters fitted in our home and pulling 2.2mbps at the furthest point. Last engineer advised I'd need a different router if the 3rd booster didn't help.
Been waiting over 3 weeks for a response to my request for a different router when they promise 48 hours. When they got back to me they asked me to do more speed tests!!
As they are a small company, only available on the phone spring office hours too.
Overall, I'm very disappointed in this company that I'd had high hopes for.


Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: Smart home 450
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 14th Aug, 2023    By: MontyP
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
After waiting many years, and the national competitor with "no plans to build", Jurassic Fibre appeared down our road climbing the poles.
Good installation, no fuss, but engineers didn't have any mesh signal boosters in the van.
Very good speeds and much better uploads than the competitor you're thinking of.
Only downside is currently no web interface for the supplied Nokia router, and Jurassic use CGNAT, IPv6 would've been good for a relatively new ISP.
Excellent webchat to contact them.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: 450
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 09th Jan, 2023    By: Daynig
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
The pre-installation went fine. The actual installation went well too - although I thought the pre-installation people had already installed the cable to my door. Anyway, there were three (yes, THREE) people doing the install. When they'd finished I got no real explanation of how anything worked, what I could or couldn't do and absolutely no documentation.

It turns out that JF don't trust people to modify their own router settings. In many cases that might be fair but I needed to ask the engineer before he told me. An on-line chat session got the SSID and password changed OK though.

Since installation the speed seems to be consistent (near 150 down and 30 up).

The issues started arriving with the phone number port. I knew that it might take up to 2 weeks but I should have twigged that something was wrong when I didn't get any notification of my temporary number. I After chasing (2 weeks after installation), I eventually got a note confirming porting would start. One month after the broadband installation my old phone number worked again.

The phone did stop working briefly but it was because of an old cable I'd used instead of the JF-supplied one. My fault and tech support was pretty good.

I can't say the same for the 'help' I got during the non-port of the phone. I had to ask for a refund of the phone charge for our first month (we had no phone) and - chase it

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: Smarthome 150
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 20th Jul, 2022    By: Mantras
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have no problem with installation. Guys from Jurassic fibre did a good job and installed quickly. They provided me some cheap NOKIA router i guess that's what the company can afford. Ok now that's when the bad things started to happen. Once you get connected. They'll provide you Shared IP address. ISSP provider not supposed to do that. You can't do anything with shared ip. Printers will not work consoles tv devices online games and so on. Shared ip address gives you unnecessary firewall and gives you lots of restriction. It's fine for mobile network but not for home broadband. I contacted them many times and nobody knew what was happening. Support team is completely useless and clueless. You have to know all the problems yourself. Eventually everything was fixed after 2 stressful weeks. The connection is alright but very mediocre. Speed sometimes stays 450mbps but not consistent. During peak times it drops to 300mbps or 250mbps. Speeds spikes. So not sure if i can give 5 stars now. Price is okay for £22 can't expect much. If they change package prices not sure if i stay with them.

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: 450mbps
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 08th Jul, 2022    By: planetjim
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Miffed.
Jurassic have completed an FTTP infrastructure build for my street in Bridgwater and have connected customers, but my home is not covered. Great :-(

Weeks spent digging up my road, usual chaos of pathways being torn up and machinery noises at all hours; OK I want fibre so no problem. Many days of engineers working in/on street cabinets. Jurassic clear up and disappear, I wait for my call from them as I signed up for connection on 1st April. Chased them by phone, promised return call, never materialised. Wait a few weeks contact them again. This time good customer service but end result is that my connection has been pushed back to an undetermined date. Great :-(

For over 3 months I've been waiting, I have a Jurassic customer ID. Jurassic verified my identity by flipping a £1 card payment but after all this Jurassic have decided that my home isn't worth connecting. Great :-(

Becoming a Jurassic customer doesn't mean that you get connected!

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 17th Nov, 2021    By: Taunton81
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Had a mailshot from Jurassic Fibre a few weeks back to say my area was now live and accepting orders.

I filled in the online form and had a call back from them a hour or so later. The sales person was very helpful and went out of their way to sort the order. I requested a static IP but was told that wasn't available on residential packages. I said that was kinda a deal breaker. He said to leave it with him and he would contact me back the following day. He did, and he had managed to speak with management at they would start offering Static IPs on their residential packages and I was to be the first.

A couple of engineers visited a few days later to carry out the install survey and I was told more work was required as it was underground ducts rather than over head wires. I thought it would be a nightmare, however just over a week later the issue had been rectified without any fuss.

Install date was yesterday. The two engineers were very polite and explained the whole process and made sure I was happy with where everything was getting installed.

Now connected and getting the advertised speeds. Initially I was on the 150/30 package, however after a phone call they switched me over to the 450/100 package instantly! Like to see Openreach do that! ;)

Very happy customer! Thanks Jurassic Fibre!

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: SmartHome 450
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 13th Jul, 2021    By: StreamBritish
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Very professional installation. Worked with me to decide on the best way for fibre to come into the house. Ensured I was getting the correct speeds, couldn't be happier.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £15.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5409)
  2. BT (3491)
  3. Politics (2499)
  4. Openreach (2279)
  5. Business (2227)
  6. Building Digital UK (2218)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1943)
  9. Statistics (1766)
  10. 4G (1641)
  11. Virgin Media (1595)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1439)
  13. Wireless Internet (1380)
  14. Fibre Optic (1380)
  15. FTTH (1379)
  16. 5G (1217)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (918)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules